Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. guest

    guest Guest

    Finished clean installing 1903, set it up, tweaked it, installed main programs and my security soft, all went fine.
    Then did a macrium backup, took 5mn lol.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    guest,

    I did a clean install as a test. A clean install (unlike an upgrade) creates Reserved storage, typically of 7 GB. Unfortunately, this uses 7 GB of C: drive space even though nothing exists. If you check the partition offline it has 7 GB more Free space than what shows in Windows. If you resize the 1903 partition (offline) so it has less than 7 GB of Free space then 1903 will not boot and it can't be fixed. Apart from restoring an image.

    Out of interest, what is the size of your Reserved storage? Mine is 7.09 GB.

    Here is a page about removing the Reserved storage but it doesn't work for me...

    https://pureinfotech.com/enable-reserved-storage-windows-10/
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Yes, that is just BS for noobs, penalizing advanced users, as if a simple button to disable it was so hard to implement.
    As usual, MS lack of vision.

    Same, around 7gb of wasted space...

    Will try. Thx.
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    10,600
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    That pages suggests an upgrade needs to be done. So I made the Registry change and it didn't help. Then I "upgraded" the 1903 to 1903 and Reserved storage is gone. It is a messy solution to regain 7 GB.
     
  5. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    1,049
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Are they at least removing files from that reserved space and TRIM that space on SSD correctly so SSD's microcontroller can use them as Spare blocks?
     
  6. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    Australia
    Just upgraded from 1809, took about two & half hours on a low spec laptop.

    Code:
    Operating System
       Windows 10 Home Single Language 64-bit
      CPU
       Intel Celeron B800 @ 1.50GHz 64 °C
       Sandy Bridge 32nm Technology
      RAM
       4.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 664MHz (9-9-9-24)
      Motherboard
       LENOVO 3367AH5 (CPU Socket - U3E1)
      Graphics
       Generic PnP Monitor (1366x768@60Hz)
       Intel HD Graphics (Lenovo)
      Storage
       119GB TOSHIBA THNSNF128GCSS (SATA (SSD)) 35 °C
      Optical Drives
       No optical disk drives detected
      Audio
       Realtek High Definition Audio
    If everything runs well I will upgrade all other systems (one I will fresh install) in a few days, besides the son's gaming system.
     
  7. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,372
    The upgrade is not yet available on my machine, maybe it is deferred for me due to having the dual graphic (Intel and AMD) and related recent issues pointed out by @Krusty
     
  8. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    13,343
    Location:
    UK
    Just took my neighbour's Win 10 1809 32bit machine up to 1903 via Update Assistant.

    Lucky it went in really as I forgot to plug the power lead in and it did it on battery :eek:
     
  9. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    25,192
    Windows 10 V1803 threatens a forced update as of July 2019
    May 23, 2019
    https://borncity.com/win/2019/05/23/windows-10-v1803-threatens-a-forced-update-as-of-july-2019/
     
  10. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    usa
    I've downloaded SB beta 5.31.1 and it fixed all downloading issues.
    https://community.sophos.com/produc...-31/113038/sandboxie-beta-sandboxie-beta-5-31
     
  11. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    123
    Location:
    Australia
    Just noticed after the update System Restore was turned off (which I turned on and created a restore point before the update) also in Windows Security it was recommended to turn on Tamper Protection. I must say my screen is way brighter than what it was before when plugged in via power which suits me well.
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,818
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10
    Assuming not using WU, what is the difference between using
    1) the Update Assistant,
    2) or the Media Creation Tool (MCT) to immediately upgrade the PC
    3) or the MCT to create installation media, and upgrading using that?
    Never been clear to me, I am sure I'll get a few different opinions! Some maintain 3) is the most reliable ...
     
  13. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    13,343
    Location:
    UK
    The Update Assistant you can run directly from the Microsoft website, you will be asked to reboot when it is ready to install. The install doesn't take long... the download does. However it is a very successful way to upgrade. Remember to remove any external usb first.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

    The MCT to upgrade the machine by clicking on update.exe from withing the downloaded MCT tool on Windows means you don't have to download all the files as they are already on your machine in the MCT on your installation media. This way does an upgrade and keeps your existing files and folders but gives you 1903. However for some reason I haven't had a lot of success using the MCT this way on 1903, it has told me on 2 machines that it couldn't install.

    The MCT on a thumb drive downloaded and made bootable during the Microsoft download, (you don't have to do it) is for clean installs. You boot from the install media (either dvd or thumb drive) and follow the prompts to do a clean install with none of you files available.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,454
    Location:
    USA
    Possibly but it has not been offered on any PC I have upgraded. I had to use the Upgrade Assistant in every case.
     
  15. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,118
    Be careful with system restore
    https://news.softpedia.com/news/how...re-bsod-after-installing-updates-526091.shtml
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,818
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I have had repeated failures on one machine (Win 10 Home, Dell XPS 8th Gen Intel, v1803) upgrading to v1809 with both WU Check for Updates, or MCT Upgrade Now.
    Will try Update Assistant to v1903.
    I am reluctant to do clean install, mainly for fear of introducing problems with absence of Dell-supplied drivers ...
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2019
  17. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    usa
  18. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,254
    I am just waiting it out at home. Not going to bother upgrading until it is available via WU. W10 is a ***********.
     
  19. zmechys

    zmechys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2012
    Posts:
    632
    Location:
    usa
    I have a Dell computer and used a Window Media tool to update (not a clean install) to 1903. No issues have occurred, but...
    Windows 1903 has fixed the most recent Windows 10 PRO update issues.
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,114
    +1
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,480
    Not everyone will get it right away.
    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/release-information/status-windows-10-1903
     
  22. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,114
    Last edited: May 25, 2019
  23. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,607
    hi
    i'm planing to upgrade to 1903 this week end
    but can i do with the windows update module?
    or have i to create an usb stick and upgrade?
    i will create an image before
    thanks
     
  24. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    13,343
    Location:
    UK
    Just go here...

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

    and select the 'Update now' button. It will take a while to do the download etc, then you will be asked to restart to install the Upgrade. It works well and saves your files etc.
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,114
    In my case, during the creation of installation media, when I checked only the x64 version, the creation of MCT tool failed. I had to select both (x32 & x64) versions in order to successfully create the MCT.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.