Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    78,590
    Location:
    Texas
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,661
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I only noticed now that System>Storage>Free up space now has 'Compress your OS drive' ... is it best to leave this unchecked?

    What issues could arise?
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,310
    It's safe to enable. But unless you have very little free disk space, there's probably not much point enabling it.
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,661
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Indeed, this SSD (capacity 224 GB) has 56 GB available so there isn't really an issue ....

    The 'Compress your OS drive' shows 42.0 GB which looks a lot! :eek:

    I know it has always been available, but it's just that I had previously always seen warnings like this: You should never try to compress a whole system drive (drive C:\, the partition where Windows is installed), or Windows folder or its subfolders - this will make your computer unbootable! so I am surprised to see this option readily available here in Win 10 Storage settings ...

    Unless this Win 10 option doesn't compress the Windows folders ... but I think I'll skip the option for now.
     
  5. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    My latest tale of woe, dealing with Win 10. I decided to try Win 10 one more time (the 3rd), figuring that in all the months 1809 has been out they ought to have got most of the problems fixed. I did it a little different this time, upgrading and keeping only my files and folders. All else is removed.

    The upgrade and install was fast, and windows 10 Pro is running fast and nice...…...except this time it won't activate. I get an error code telling me it either cannot connect to servers due to something blocking the attempts, or there isn't a valid digital license available. The license is valid. It was valid the other times I checked out Win 10, it should be valid now unless MS has decided to stop the free upgrades.

    I'm beginning to think something doesn't want me to have Windows 10 on my laptop.
     
  6. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Europe
    Well, I don't know what's that something, but it sure isn't me! Here, open cmd and type:

    slmgr /ipk W269N-WFGWX-YVC9B-4J6C9-T83GX
    slmgr /skms kms8.msguides.com
    slmgr /ato

    That should activate your windows
     
  7. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Thank you, Floyd 57. All activated. I'm going to save that code to my external just in case Win 10 annoys me or screws up, and I macrium myself back to 8.1.
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,889
    Location:
    localhost
    Congratulation! You have just activated your windows 10 via an illegal/hacked server in China :D
    Should this type of actions really promoted in here? o_O
     
  9. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,720
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  10. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    38,366
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,889
    Location:
    localhost
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,558
  13. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    38,366
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,720
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    38,366
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,720
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Here are some more I found embedded in a script:
    https://www.quora.com/How-can-I-activate-Windows-10-permanently
     
  17. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,720
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I am pretty sure this one is legit. It is Cornell University:

    skms kms01.cit.cornell.edu
     
  18. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    Is it ethical for Microsoft to include faulty activation engine, that forbids legit Windows license owner to use licensed software? It is rather rhetorical question.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,310
  20. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Didn't know it was unethical. But I'll keep it. If Win 10 deactivates in 6 months, I can always go back to 8.1, which is legal and came with this laptop. My point was, I downloaded 10 via MS, installed on this valid system, something over an hour of time blown not to mention software needing to be reinstalled.
     
  21. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,310
    Well you can get a legit digital license for Windows 10 that never expires if you activate Windows 10 with your Windows 8.1 product key, or do an upgrade from Windows 8.1 to 10. It's a digital license, so you get not product ley. Whenver you install Windows again, Microsoft will recgonise your PC, see that is has a digital license and automatically activate it.
     
  22. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Europe
    Or you can just use another server in 6 months :D


    (or the same server if it's still working?)
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    7,310
    Why would you do that, when you can legally activate Windows 10 for free?
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,558
    maybe he just likes taking risks.
     
  25. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    I did upgrade, from a valid, legal license. My HP laptop came with Win 7 Pro and a legal DVD from HP with 8.1 Pro to upgrade if I chose. I installed 8.1 Pro shortly after I received the laptop. There is no product key on any sticker on this laptop, a Hewlett Packard 355G2. There was no product key on any paper in the box the laptop came in when I purchased it online from HP. The Win 7 Pro and 8.1 Pro license is digital.

    By the time I loaded 8.1, Win 10 was released. A few months after Win 10 was released, I upgraded to 10. It activated but I had problems so reverted to 8.1. When the Creator's Edition of 10 came I upgraded again and had nothing but trouble so went back to 8.1 again. Both versions of Win 10 Pro activated.

    Now, I figured after months of Microsoft fixing this and that, this 1809 version of Windows 10 ought to be fixed. So, I upgraded for the 3rd time, keeping my files and folders but cleaning out everything else. It's been running fast and well the last few days as I reinstalled all the software I lost. The only problem I had is that 10 Pro refused to activate, giving some error number and saying it either could find no valid digital license or it could not connect to the servers.

    After 2 days of that nonsense, I checked online and discovered quite a few other people had the same problem with Win 10 refusing to activate, so Wilders being my go to place for many years when I had a problem, I made the post wondering if anyone had a solution.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.