Windows 10 Announced - Released 29-Jul-2015

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    10,545
    Updating to Windows 10 v1809 Deactivates Built-in Admin Account
    January 2, 2019
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...-10-v1809-deactivates-built-in-admin-account/
     
  2. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    10,545
    Announcing Windows 10 Insider Preview Build 18309
    January 3, 2019
    https://blogs.windows.com/windowsex...ncing-windows-10-insider-preview-build-18309/
     
  3. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    10,545
    Forced Windows 10 upgrade leads Finnish watchdog to demand Microsoft payout
    January 7, 2019
    https://www.techrepublic.com/articl...-finnish-watchdog-to-demand-microsoft-payout/
     
  4. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Europe
    This is what happens when you don't do a backup. If he had a backup, there would be no problem at all, other than stopping the forced installation
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    29,306
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
  7. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,139
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Why would you do this? Running with hidden Admin account means you will receive zip UAC prompts regardless of if set to max. level.
     
  8. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Europe
    Yeah, just disable the built-in admin account and use netplwiz to change the only remaining (non-disabled) admin account to standard user, and set "User Account Control: Behavior of the elevation prompt for standard users" to "Automatically deny elevation requests" from gpedit.msc, boom no admins allowed! (you can revert it with something like a windows 10 iso on usb, run cmd and netplwiz to change the acc back to admin)
     
  9. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,837
    Location:
    USA
    I interpreted this to mean he was enabling the admin account and removing all admin from the other accounts so that he would be prompted for credentials when admin was needed and would input the admin username and password when elevation was required rather than the usual yes/no prompt you would get with a UAC admin account. I could be wrong but it would explain what he is doing. I don't think he is actively logging into that admin account. If he were actively using the admin account there would be no need for other accounts.
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    68,565
    Location:
    Texas
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,840
    Location:
    USA
  12. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    68,565
    Location:
    Texas
    Good question.
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    10,545
  14. reasonablePrivacy

    reasonablePrivacy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Posts:
    704
    Location:
    Member state of European Union
    I login into Admin account when I update Windows (automatic updates are disabled) and install new programs.
    All other things I do from standard user account.
    I have set "Automatically deny elevation requests" in gpedit.msc, but don't want to enable and disable Admin accounts from external iso, because it is too much work. Remember that my primary system is Gnu/Linux, Windows is secondary, so I don't want to waste too much time for maintanance of secondary system.
     
  15. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Europe
    Yeah time is everything. That's why my acc is admin, ain't nobody got time for standard accounts, also almost everything I use needs admin. Besides, malware won't miraculously run out of nowhere and "inherit" admin permissions, so it's not like this is a security hole really. There's UAC which is pretty robust and all those "bypasses" and stuff need either to lower the level of UAC notification or to run an executable which NVT ERP will ask me for. And that even assumes a malware is ran in the first place. Besides there's plenty of malware that doesn't need admin permissions to do bad stuff
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  16. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,120
    Checking for available space is one example that programmers tend to forget when learning to program. :D If Ms had simply checked available space, that would would have most likely added a mechanism to keep updates/upgrades from being installed. MS doesn't want that, so now they are making sure you have enough space.:rolleyes:
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,837
    Location:
    USA
    I assumed you were not using the Admin account as the only account and it sounded like the conversation was headed that way so I wanted to make sure we understood how it was being used before picking at the idea of enabling the admin account at all. What you are doing sounds reasonable to me.
     
  18. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    10,777
    Location:
    .
    Most bypasses work with UAC default level, there is no need to lower the level. Setting UAC to maximum will break most of them. Also some study by Kaspersky showed that most malware samples they've checked used Admin credentials when running so it seems that bad guys didn't switch to SUA mode yet.
    * can't find the study ATM.
     
  19. Floyd 57

    Floyd 57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Posts:
    397
    Location:
    Europe
    That's what I mean, set UAC to all the most restrictive options from gpedit.msc (the control panel setting is just a GUI), if you want overkill also activate "Only elevate executables that are signed and validated" though I have this one turned off because it doesn't matter if it can elevate since NVT ERP will alert me anyway, if it gets to that point
     
  20. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    10,545
    Announcing Windows 10 Insider Preview Build 18312
    January 9, 2019
    https://blogs.windows.com/windowsex...ncing-windows-10-insider-preview-build-18312/
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,690
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  22. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    68,565
    Location:
    Texas
    Windows 10 has a built-in free screen recorder that you might not know about

     
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,698
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    68,565
    Location:
    Texas
    Who knew? :)
     
  25. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    10,777
    Location:
    .
    First Windows 10 Build for Microsoft’s Foldable Devices Appears Online
    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/ne...-microsoft-s-foldable-devices-appears-online/
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.