Windows 10 Anniversary Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by stapp, Aug 3, 2016.

  1. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,002
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Was it a MBR or UEFI install? I installed in MBR mode. A primary NTFS partition was created and then set Active. You have to do this prior to booting from Win10 media otherwise you won't get a single partition install. Don't forget, set it Active.
     
  2. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,975
    I have no idea what it was. I installed using Rufus to put it on a usb stick. All prior versions of 10 worked well. Don't know what changed. Lately I am getting such cr*p performance out of Win in general that I have moved to linux now, where everything just works well and fast. Could be my aging machine, I don't know. Slow hd too. Gotta use what works in the end. :)
     
  3. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    Yesterday after updating to Windows 10 AU on this person's PC, the HP ENVY 5530 e-All-in-One Printer wasn't shown installed.

    Previous to Windows 10 AU update, the person had the latest drivers. It was released back in late 2015, which basically adds support for Windows 10. http://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers...l-in-One-Printer-series/5304881/model/5304882

    If I can remember correctly, the only printer functionality existed was scanning. Printing was no where's to be found. Tried the full HP software & drivers package, and it'll go as far as the screen saying something about installing driver where it'll hang there until finally it'll timeout with some message about failing.

    Tried HP Diagnostic Tools, HP Print and Scan Doctor and HP Printer Install Wizard to no avail. Tried Windows own printer troubleshooter in Windows 10. Tried another version of Printer troubleshooting via Microsoft website.

    At some point I think one of HP repair utilities finally managed to communicate with the printer, however the following step triggered its dialog stating to re-install the drivers.

    Wireless Printer, and trying to use wireless printing support. What actually worked was 'Add Printer' from Windows and 'Add printer using a TCP/IP address or hostname”

    I haven't seen such a case with a printer and any version of Windows 10.
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    After updating to Windows 10 AU, or updating from previous version to newer version of 10. You'll have to expect that your information is getting carried over and various software and drivers will be getting installed. I think it'll even check on Internet for some. Then other steps are performed, and WU updating and new Store Apps retrieval and updating to existing ones.

    Usually just letting it do its thing, and finally Windows 10 updates will work much smoothly and speedy unless of a deeper anomaly.

    I only had one case where there was such an anomaly. There were several rundll32 processes running, it was for Application Experience Program Inventory component. Here's the commandline information;

    rundll32.exe aeinv.dll,UpdateSoftwareInventory

    I left it carry on and making the computer sluggish for a little, then I simply re-booted the PC and things was running very smoothly and speedy after that.

    Regarding those screen messages; 'Getting Ready', and something like 'All your files are exactly where you left them' and other ones... Those meant to be incredibly slow, give chance for people to read them. :mad:
     
  5. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    I have got received today the update of Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. driver update for AMD Radeon HD 8600/8700M. After installation the screen flickered and intermittently went to black and back. Furthermore it required reboot (to finish installation) every time after reboot. So I have reverted AMD driver back to the previous version and all is fine. As I opted to revert only driver, not to uninstall the whole update, Windows Update says my PC is up to date. I hope that AMD with MS will issue a fix soon.
     
  6. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,249
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    re Computer restart or shut down not working (spinning circle) requiring power down.

    I 'successfully' (re)upgraded from 1511 to AU 1607 yesterday using WU (with clean boot).
    However on first restart after completion, it would not restart or shut down again, even with clean boot, so it can't be a service or app and must be a driver issue I guess.
    I tried updating Intel Wireless-N 7260 from here and it did update the driver version from 17.15.0.5 dated 2015/02/22 to 18.33.3.2 dated 2016/05/03 but it made no difference. Fast startup is off.
    Edit: I do recall some months back downloading an optional Windows Update for this driver and thought it may be older than the 'official' version.

    This is frustrating because it is the newest of the laptops here, around 18 months old. My much older secondary Dell laptop and an HP netbook don't have a problem. Via google I don't see others with this problem.

    I will take an image for future testing, and probably go back to 1511 (and hide the AU update using wushowhide), because it seems a bit like driving a car without brakes, and not sure how it will handle future Windows Updates, if it doesn't restart automatically.

    I hope a solution can and will be found. Keep me updated.

    Incidentally, it also puzzles me that MS is pushing out cumulative updates to the last three W10 builds (including AU) ...
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
  7. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    It is actually MS issue. Windows Update installs the older driver 16.200 over the newer 16.300. I had the problem with it as well.
     
  8. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    Thanks for the information.
    Unplugging of the ethernet cord lets reboot or shutdown in my case but obviously this is not a permanent solution which I would be willing to accept. I still hope that some Windows update will fix it.
     
  9. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    Thanks. I didn't know it. I thought it is on AMD's side. Btw, did you revert also to the previous driver or something else?
     
  10. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I have uninstalled all AMD drivers and installed only the one from AMD and hide the one from Windows Update.
    My problem was, that it also prevented me from setting up a proper display resolution, so it was really annoying.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    OK, you've been plagued by more than me.
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,249
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yeah, I don't have that option, else I'd stay on 1607. Let me know if and when that update arrives, for you at least. I will probably be on 1511 so won't know. :doubt:
     
  13. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    The trick is to disconnect from internet regardless of connection (wi-fi, cable or mobile) before reboot/shutdown, at least in my case.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    15,865
    Location:
    UK
    Windows 10 Anniversary Update Might Hide Partitions After Install

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/wind...ht-hide-partitions-after-install-507247.shtml
     
  15. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,249
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    OK, that doesn't work for me, so our symptoms may be the same, but the causes different.

    One thing I have noticed is that if I leave something like the browser open, and then 'restart anyway' it occasionally works.

    And after updating the Intel Wieless Bluetooth driver via Device Manager from 18.1.1611.3223 to 19.0.1621.3340 I actually had two successful restarts in a row!

    But unfortunately a hard reset is still mostly required.

    I will stay on 1607 a little while longer and see how it goes.
     
  16. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,403
    I have also observed that if I reboot/shutdown without surfing internet (after the previous reboot/shutdown) but still having an active internet connection I don't need to disconnect internet and reboot/shutdown goes fine as it is supposed. It looks like that the problem occurs when the reboot/shutdown is done after a busy internet traffic. But I could be wrong.
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,249
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    It is definitely something that MS has changed with AU as it has occurred both times I have upgraded from 1511 to 1607, and it occurs even with a clean boot.
    Strange though that it is not more prevalent.
    We'll just have to be patient and see if a Windows Update sorts it out. I wonder if all their telemetry even reveals this sort of problem.
    At least AU has fixed a problem I was having in 1511 (searchindexer froze the system about three minutes into boot.). I had to disable Windows Search service.
    With the AU upgrade this service was reenabled (automatic), and the freeze does not occur.
    So there is hope :)
     
  18. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Is Microsoft sending out the upgrade a little at a time to different areas? I installed WIN10 last September, and am still waiting for the new upgrade 1607.
     
  19. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    Anyone trying or planning on updating Tablet to Windows 10 Anniversary. Be aware that using another drive for needed space to install, using micro-SD can lead to persistent failures on the first phase.

    This didn't seem to be a problem when upgrading to the November update, however it is now on this Acer Tablet.

    The workaround; simply buy a cheap USB to Micro-USB adapter and USB 16GB flash drive.. Put your downloaded Windows 10 Anniversary ISO onto the flash drive and mount the ISO (native 10 feature), and run the setup.exe. Specify this flash drive for storage to install Windows 10 AU.

    You'd be ask 4-5 times during installation to insert media, simply unplug the USB and insert it back in and click 'OK' button.

    ..as always just trying to help my fellow wilders friends. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
  20. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    That is how it's being done. If you want it earlier, you'd need to use the latest Media Creation Tool.

     
  21. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I have a desktop pc with a 1.35tb hard drive, not a tablet.
     
  22. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    Canada
    It doesn't matter if you have a desktop PC or Tablet.

    My response to you had nothing in reference to my Tablet post.
     
  23. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    11,002
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    twl845,

    I suggest you download the Win10 ISO from...

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10ISO/

    ...use Rufus to make a USB flash drive. In Windows, double click setup.exe on the flash drive. Don't choose the Download Update option.
     
  24. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    809
    Location:
    Canada
    Tried thru Windows updates, got bluescreen " Inaccessible Boot Device" downloaded ISO trying that now.
     
  25. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    809
    Location:
    Canada
    Actually went quite well. 90% of my old settings sticked, just had to uninstall several apps they tried to push again. All programs work, nothing borked, thought it would be worse.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.