Windows 10 Anniversary Update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by stapp, Aug 3, 2016.

  1. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,270
    Location:
    England
    Perhaps we can pass on our experiences in a dedicated Anniversary thread.

    Upgraded Win 10 Pro using the Media Creation Tool to do the upgrade instead of the iso file.

    Took over an hour with 3 or 4 restarts.

    Everything working well and just as quick as before as far as I can see. It doesn't seem to have changed too much for me although I did have to untick Fast Boot which it had re-enabled.
     
  2. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Did try and update via Windows Update just an hour ago.

    1) Downloading just fine
    2) Seems to install just fine
    3) Windows asks to restart in order to do the final steps of the installation
    4) I get BSOD at 100% on installations progress, computer reboots
    5) Computer reboots again during startup (I'm getting worried for real that Windows crashed itself completely)
    6) Finally get into Windows again (puh)
    7) Windows asks to install Anniversary update again.

    Tried again, but same as above. I'm stuck in a loop.
     
  3. The Seeker

    The Seeker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,100
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm not too fond of the redesigned UAC prompt, but I guess I'll get used to it. I guess it does fit in better with the overall Win10 theme (specifically the Settings interface).
     
  4. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ok! So on the 4th try the update to Anniversary succeeded! No idea what could've caused the BSOD. I didn't do anything to the software, I just kept trying to update.

    Kaspersky needed me to enter the license key again after update. The design in the start menu is a bit different, but I like it.

    It's nice that Edge has gotten some extensions. :) But trying to download them gives me an error message that they couldn't be installed. :(
     
  5. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    At least 5 failed attempts and no clue how to continue.

    Windows just shows a small dialog box that the upgrade fails, without an error code or anything else to start an investigation... :(
     
  6. rossnixon

    rossnixon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Posts:
    21
    Location:
    New Zealand
    I'm keeping the updates blocked for at least a few weeks, and will be reading up on people's experiences. I've heard the hardware requirements have slightly increased, so I'm not sure if it will work on this old system. I'll try it after I make my next 'image backup' on the 15th.
     
  7. Wellies

    Wellies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    The update on mine hung at 83%. I know the process on such a large update can appear to hang for long periods of time but I was pretty sure the process had really hung. The only way to exit seemed to be turning off at the mains. On coming back on, the system automatically rolled back to the pre-update (attempt) state.

    Before making a second attempt I uninstalled Avira Pro, HitmanPro.Alert and Adguard. Also stopped some services from running. These being Skype (Desktop version) - Nvidia GeForce Experience. Started the update process again and all went well this time.

    I read somewhere that it might be best to uninstall security programs before upgrading to Windows 10. They are designed to monitor and possibly prevent changes being made to the computer after all. Anyway, this seemed to be the case with the Anniversary Update. I have now reinstalled the security programs, re-enabled the services and all is well.
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Please see my previous question.
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    My update was flawless, everything works well, I have the feeling of improved speed overall, apart from some minor changes, UAC' window is bigger, start display is slightly different. The most important thing for me is that it didn't break anything as far as I can tell...
     
  10. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    451
    1. Install booting from downloaded ISO (apparently not possible)
    2. Install starting setup.exe on DVD from within active Windows 10, with security software disabled
    3. Install starting setup.exe on DVD from within active Windows 10, "clean mode" (all startup software disabled)
    4. Install starting setup.exe on DVD from within active Windows 10, safe mode (apparently not possible either)
    5. Install using 5 MB download which downloads the remaining 4 GB

    All attempts failed.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
  11. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,617
    Location:
    Canada
    My update was flawless,took about one hour to complete. Everything works well except Microsoft Office 2013 who ask me to enter my license which I did not remember! Had to solve the problem over the phone.
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    You are perfectly right, that's what I did when upgrading from Win 8.1 to Win 10. Even disabling Avira real time protection, the program will still protect the registry against changes, and that could break the process. I'm surprised that MS does not advice specifically to uninstall security before a major update or upgrade.
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,867
    Location:
    Australia
    I haven't been offered the update yet, but then I have only just fresh installed Win10 on my machines just over a week ago. I know I can manually update but I'll wait for now.

    Can anyone tell me whether we get another partition this time?

    Thanks.
     
  14. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Updated without a hitch. I went on to Microsoft support website where is a direct link to installation file. Downloaded the file (5MB) and then followed instructions. Installation of the update has been downloaded, then checked its integrity and prepared installation. Then it asked for reboot. Since then it lasted 40 minutes to get the update successfuly installed with a couple of reboots.

    I have noticed a few folders on C:/ drive:
    $GetCurrent
    $Recycle.Bin
    $windows.~bt
    Windows.old

    Can be all deleted now?
     
  15. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    No new partitions as far as I can tell...
     
  16. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    I have these as well (but not $Recycle.Bin)
    $SysReset
    $Windows,~WS
     
  17. LucentWarrior

    LucentWarrior Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Posts:
    71
    Location:
    US
    I performed a clean install yesterday of the Anniversary Edition, and all is well so far.
     
  18. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    I have seen other KAV users reporting BSOD. In fact KAV support recommend not to install WIN10 AU and wait for a patch.
     
  19. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,238
    I've been running the Anniversary Update for about 8 hours now. So far I'm impressed. I'm running it on and old HP Probook with a 1st generation i3 processor, and it runs quite fast. I've been using a laptop with a Core 2 Duo for some time now, and while I was generally happy with the performance, there were times that I felt I could use more processing power, and I was going to buy a cheap used i5 laptop to replace it. Due to issues with my laptop, a few days ago I switched to an i3 computer I picked up cheaply. The performance I'm getting with having an i3 processor and the new build of Windows is a lot better than on my previous laptop.

    So far, the only time I see any slowdowns is when scrolling through "heavy" websites such as facebook and gizmochina, in which case there is some lag. The Start Menu was a bit slow when searching for programs with my old setup, but is lightning fast now.

    Also, this was not a clean install. It's an upgrade from a Windows 10 install which originally on my old laptop and there are hundreds of programs installed.
     
  20. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Cannot delete windows.old completely. There reside three files in the drivers folder: GemCCID.sys, IntcDAud.sys and ST_Accel.sys
    I have noticed that the same files are stored in windows/system32/drivers

    Anyone?
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Have you tried to remove windows.old from MS own clean-up utility (run as administrator)?
     
  22. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Yes. I was able manually remove GemCCID.sys but the next two still remain.
     
  23. Wellies

    Wellies Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    41
    I booted up using a Linux Mint installation disk. Once that was up and running I was able to see the Windows file system, head for the folder and delete it. This worked OK and no ill-effects noticed when booting into W.10 and running it.
     
  24. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Resolved. I had to temporarily disable Intel Display Audio driver and STMicroelectronics Digital Accelerometer driver. After that I was able to remove windows.old completely.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2016
  25. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    One trouble observed after the update - an unreliable reboot and switch off. Sometime it gets stuck and the hard switch off is only a solution. Anyone else?
     
Loading...