Window Update Error

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by RicksterT, Aug 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RicksterT

    RicksterT Guest

    Hi All. When I attempt Windows Update I get, “Windows Update has encountered and error and cannot display the page requested.” There are three links offered but don’t seem to pin down my problem. Also offers, “Send error number to Microsoft (0x800A138F)” adding, “This sends error message but does not create a support incident; you may or may not receive a response.” Tried system restore to a tail-end point of my last update to no avail, so undid that. Thought it was the site, but I just patched a laptop from their site yesterday. Last update 8/5/03 and all attempts since get this error.

    I certainly don’t want to waste anyone’s valuable time here, but before I hired someone to fix it, just thought I’d run it up the pole in case anyone had a similar experience, a fix or simple method to freshen or repair the update function. Platform Win XP Home. PS. I had some malfunctions with a couple of security software changes or trials that required unloading them, a system restore and reinstall of Norton AV and it’s live update engine, concurrent to and after the last windows update. Everything is running perfect – except the windows update function. Probably zapped something in the process..

    I sent query to MS and might try on-line support, but from experience, I’ll grow even older and die before I get a response, but my grandson might benefit from the attempt.

    Thanks Again, Rickster
     
  2. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Different possibilities for this error :

    Try this :
    Problem Description:
    This may occur if Service Pack 1 has been removed from the computer either
    through System
    Restore or by reinstalling Windows XP into the same directory. You may see
    a page that states that the Web page has an unexpected error or cannot
    display the page that was requested.


    Resolutions:
    The value for the CSDVersion in
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Windows
    needs to be changed to 0. If you are comfortable editing the registry,
    follow the instructions below.
    1. Click "Start," and then click "Run."
    2. In the Open box type regedit and click "OK."
    3. Browse in the left frame to:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Windows
    4. In the right frame you will see the key CSDVersion. Double click this
    key.
    5. Change the value to 0 and click "OK."
    6. Restart the computer.

    Other possibilities : you are running a popupkiller : unactivate it
    for WU
    You are using a Hosts file :and some address in it concerns WU (new akamai address for instance)
    Rename your hosts in hostsold to go to WU and then name it back hosts.

    Or WU is temporary down

    Rgds,
     
  3. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Thanks JacK for taking time. The regedit didn't work. Doesn't seem related to eariler posting here. Always shut down blocking/popup programs and reset IE and system settings wide open for MS as usual. Unsure how to adjust the hosts element you mentioned though. Considered the site being unavailable but too many tries later and I can access on another dial-up system no problem.

    Below is a partial from my iuident Notepad. Looks like all the right servers are utilized, but don't completely understand it. I'm stumped. Thought of restoring further back and reinstalling everything, even SP1 (what a hassel) but now afraid I still might not get back in to download all the patches.


    [IUControl]
    ControlVer=5.4.3630.2550
    ControlVerAnsi=5.3.3716.1

    [IUSelfUpdate]
    Version=5.4.3630.2550
    VersionAnsi=5.3.3716.1
    MinimumVersion=5.4.3630.2550
    MinimumVersionAnsi=5.3.3716.1
    ServerUrl=http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/selfupdate/iuupd/
    StructureKey=ARCH|CHARTYPE|

    [IUBetaSelfUpdate]
    Version=5.4.3630.2550
    VersionAnsi=5.3.3716.1
    MinimumVersion=5.4.3630.2550
    MinimumVersionAnsi=5.3.3716.1
    ServerUrl=http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/selfupdate/iuupd/
    StructureKey=ARCH|CHARTYPE|

    [IUArch]
    x86=/x86
    ia64=/ia64

    [IUCharType]
    ansi=/ansi
    unicode=/unicode

    [IUSchema]
    SOAPQuerySchema="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"
    SystemSpecSchema="http://schemas.windowsupdate.com/iu/systeminfoschema.xml"
    ResultSchema="http://schemas.windowsupdate.com/iu/resultschema.xml"

    [IUServerCache]
    ServerCount=4
    CDMServerCacheIndex=2
    BetaCDMServerCacheIndex=2
    CDMQueryServerIndex=2
    CDMBetaQueryServerIndex=2
    IU_SiteQueryServerIndex=1
    IU_SiteBetaQueryServerIndex=1
    DefaultQueryServerIndex=1
    AUQueryServerIndex=3
    AUBetaQueryServerIndex=3
    AUDriverQueryServerIndex=4
    AUDriverBetaQueryServerIndex=4
    Server1="https://a248.e.akamai.net/v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp"
    Server2="https://a248.e.akamai.net/v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/consumerdrivers/getmanifest.asp"
    Server3="https://a248.e.akamai.net/v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/autoupdate/getmanifest.asp"
    Server4="https://a248.e.akamai.net/v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/autoupdatedrivers/getmanifest.asp"

    [IUServerURLs]
    ServerCount=2
    Server1="http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/"
    Server2="http://a248.e.akamai.net/"

    [IUCertCab]
    ServerUrl="http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/"

    [IUPingServer]
    ServerUrl=http://wustat.windows.com

    [AUSelfUpdate]
    ServerUrlEx="http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com"
    StructureKeyEx=/selfupdate/AU|ARCH|AUOS|LANG


    Best Regards, Rick
     
  4. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    Need to remember that WU also changed their URL due to worm, trojans, viruses and all those nasties!!!

    are you using:

    http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp
     
  5. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Thanks Pretender. Yes - even using your link it's the same thing. Probably time to give up, but thank you all for trying. It's a real stumper. Sincerely, Rickster.
     
  6. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Rickster, i had had trouble getting to WU earlier today also using the IE's Tools-->Windows Update link. So the next time i tried it, i first cleared all Internet Temp Files and cookies, closed the browser..then went through the same link using IE's Tools-->Windows Update...but this time when the url came up, i put in an s after the http :)

    i was able to get to the update site without a problem, and no errors. Everything scanned as it should and showed the right items after scan.

    i just checked it again now using IE's Tools-->Windows Update link...and this time i didn't have to put the s in after the http, it just loaded as it always had without the s there. Not sure why it loads now without the https now, but hey, as long as it works! LOL

    Try inserting the s in the url and see if that helps?

    good luck,

    snap
     
  7. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Thanks Snap. That didn't work, but then I'm having no problem reaching the right update site. After I hit 'scan for updates' I get an error similar to Bethrezen's earlier post in this section (0x800a138f).
    I unloaded (rather than shut down) a popup program and made absolutely sure my system is full open - including permission by firewall by anything that has the word 'windows' in it. (Not that it required it before). Darn Puzzel! Seached similar issues at MS support news but no answers for them either. But thank you very much for the feedback.

    Wonder if Adaware or Spybot S&D ever removed a file our nosey friends at MS require?

    Sincerely, Rickster.
     
  8. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Hi rickster... cannot help personally via WU itself.. but here are a couple of links you may wish to check out...

    There is a big thread on this problem [which, btw, I don't currently have] at DSLR.

    Something in there may help....

    Here: http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,7739166~root=winme~mode=flat

    Did you previously update by any chance the Nvidia drivers that were available?
    That appears to be a problem.

    Also... in the meantime.. if WU not working but you need updates, go to here:

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/?url=/technet/security/current.asp?frame=true

    Look for the Patch no. click on it and you will be able to download manually. If unsure what has/has not been applied, check the following places on your system:

    C:/WINDOWS [if XP] WindowsNT [I think for 2000] and simply look for the blue coding in there..

    See pic.. this will give you the list of patches installed.. BUT.. some may be IE related and won't show in that listing..... so.....

    Open IE Browser/Help/About Internet Browser and look for the patches installed in the About window.. that way you can keep abreast of updates until WU issue sorted.

    hth..

    Cheers, TAS
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    Rickster, I don't know what you "know" about PC's, so I have posted the above and this in case you are fairly new to it...if not, my apologies :D

    But this may help someone else who is not so conversant with their system. :)

    this window to see IE related patches..

    TAS :)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Many Thanks Tassie_Devils. In that window my IE version says SP1; 818529; that's all....but there's a ton listed in my load/unload program. (Pretty much everything available to 8/5/03 anyway) The links above really helped. Lots of possible solutions going on over there. I'm getting cross-eyed reading all the similar problems, solutions & potential work-arounds. A couple sound very promising. I had no idea this was such a big problem lately. Your guidance for manually downloading specific updates is also invaluable. Thanks to each of you.

    Have to break though, drink a six-pack and watch a movie before they come in here with a net and throw me in a rubber room with a gallon of Wesson oil.

    You guys are the best. Rickster

    "Faster than a Speeding ISP"
    "Able to Leap Tall Newbies in a Single Bound"
    "More Powerful than a Locomotive, or My Breath"
    "It's a Bird - It's a Plane - It's Paul in Drag! No! It's the Whole Wilders Crew Flying in Formation!!!"
     
  11. Tassie_Devils

    Tassie_Devils Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Posts:
    2,514
    Location:
    State Queensland, Australia
    :) np's rickster..

    Seriously sugest you do get hold of the 822925 IE Security Patch though, it's a serious flaw :eek: apparently...

    Cheers, TDS
     
  12. illukka

    illukka Spyware Fighter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    S.A.V.O
    this is just a wild guess but is activeX enabled on your ie? and your copy of windows is surely a legal one? and you have no pirated /cracked software installed on your system?
     
  13. JacK

    JacK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Belgium -Li?ge
    Hello,

    Seems to me it's due to you Hosts file :

    This address in the hosts [IUServerURLs]

    Server2="http://a248.e.akamai.net/"
    is blocked by most hosts files or anti-pub softwares.
    Unactivate your anti-pub tool if any and rename you hosts in hosts.old (The hosts file has no extension - don't make the confusion with hosts.sam)

    The path to your Hosts (WinXP) is :
    x:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    (hidden and system file : you must change the settings in folders properties\Display in order to see them)

    Rgds,
     
  14. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Hi again. Did just that TDS, thanks to the direct download site I'm all patched up and happier than a clam at high-tide.

    Hi illuka. Yep, I enable active X, downloads, scripting, lower java & software channel permissions and so on -everthing. All hardware and software here is licensed and paid for - totally legit. Never hurts to ask.

    That Server2 looks like a good call Jack. I've never accessed a host file before so will explore your advice tomorrow. At least I can patch in the meantime. Cross-checking, all patches are present and accounted for. Ran the Microsoft baseline security analyizer, no critical vulnerabilities found. I'll be watching the discussions at DSL to see how things are shaping up on this too.

    Time to tighted up my settings again and get some shut-eye. Thanks again to all of you for your time and consideration today. I always sleep better when my OS is up-to-date against the boogie-man.

    Sincerely, Rickster
     
  15. Pretender

    Pretender Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Posts:
    670
    Location:
    Virtual Paradise
    You might ck out the MS Windows Update forum for info:

    http://communities.microsoft.com/newsgroups/default.asp?icp=windowsupdate
     
  16. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Just like Jack, I was thinking it is your HOSTS file that is blocking.
    Rickster, did you ever installed for example the "full hosts file" from Steve Martin (SMartins HOSTS)?
    In the full version is indeed listed this site:
    a248.e.akamai.net
    And that is exactly the one that might be the culprit here.

    Rickster, what firewall are you using? Are you able to view the log-file of your firewall?
    Try to run your windows-update as usual.
    After that, have a look at your firewall log-file.
    There has to be made a connection to a248.e.akamai.net
    If there was NOT made such a connection, then that site a248.e.akamai.net is somehow blocked on your machine.

    Do a search on your machine for a file hosts
    This is a file without ANY extension !!!
    (BTW: there might be also hosts files WITH an extension, but the one without any extension is important now!!).
    Open that hosts file (without extension !!) in Wordpad.
    Do a search in it for a248.e.akamai.net
    If there is that a248.e.akamai.net listed in your hosts file, remove the line in which it is mentioned!!!

    I myself are using the Full HOSTS file from Steve Martin on my Windows 98 SE machine, and I had indeed to remove that line in HOSTS to be able to get windows-updates!!!

    Good luck Rickster !!!
    Let us know how it goes, please.

    Best regards, Jan.
     
  17. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Hi All. Answer you in a bit Fan J, just wanted to squeeze this in. Host file may be to blame, but wondered if it wasn’t on MS end. Editing, I cut two samples out of the update file notepad that recorded each update sequence. Per line prefixes like, date, time, status and IUENGINE was cut to save room. Note the good sample (my indent >> sign) indicates point where a difference occurs between both samples. In failed sample (also my indent >>) the second update catalog site is not queried and is shut down, with subsequent differences from that point. All later attempts mimic the failed sequence.

    GOOD UPDATE SAMPLE SEQUENCE (Edited for one downloaded patch)
    Starting
    Windows Update Web Site has a valid address: http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp?mode=updatecenter
    Determining machine configuration
    Determining machine configuration
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Determining machine configuration
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/consumerdrivers/getmanifest.asp
    >>Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Asynchronous Download started
    Download destination root folder is: C:\WUTemp
    Downloaded file http://download.windowsupdate.com/msdownload/update/v3-19990518/cabpool/q818529_94327511db0b86d509decf6a3becf73.exe
    Local path C:\WUTemp\com_microsoft.Q818529_IE6_SP1\q818529.exe
    See iuhist.xml for details: Download finished
    Asynchronous Install started
    Asynchronous Install completed startup
    Installing SOFTWARE item from publisher com_microsoft
    Installer Command Type: EXE
    See iuhist.xml for details: Install finished

    FAILED UPDATE SEQUENCE SAMPLE:
    Starting
    Windows Update Web Site has a valid address: http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp?mode=updatecenter
    Determining machine configuration
    Determining machine configuration
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/getmanifest.asp
    Determining machine configuration
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/consumerdrivers/getmanifest.asp
    >>Shutting down
    Shutting down
    Starting
    Starting
    Downloaded iuident.cab from http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v4/ to C:\Program Files\WindowsUpdate\V4
    Checking to see if new version of Windows Update software available
    Starting
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/consumerdrivers/getmanifest.asp
    Didn't find matching driver for PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0002&SUBSYS_80641102&REV_08\4&3AB31F7F&0&10F0
    Querying software update catalog from https://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/consumerdrivers/getmanifest.asp
    Didn't find matching driver for PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0002&SUBSYS_80641102&REV_08\4&3AB31F7F&0&10F0
    Shutting down
    Shutting down
    Shutting down
     
  18. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    BINGO! Above post was waste of time, sorry. JacK, Fan J & company are right. I found a brain cell and checked the host files - C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts – browsed to ‘etc.’ changed from ‘programs’ to ‘list all files’ and found five. One was a file “Host” with no extension. Opened it in notepad and was a full of 'a248.e.akamai.net' (modified by “SpyStopper” interestingly enough).

    I simply deleted the file and I was free of the error at Windows Update. Updates didn’t register properly from this mess so followed MS knowledge based article 319109 instructions. Reloaded some updates and rescanned - all clear. Wow, what a bunch of brain damage this error was – time to share. If I can fix it following your advice, everyone can. At least I learned about host files. Bless you all.

    Thanks again, Rickster
     
  19. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Congrats Rickster !
    I'm glad you could fix it !!

    Actually there was no need to delete the whole HOSTS file.
    There must have been a line in it like this:
    127.0.0.1 a248.e.akamai.net
    It would have been enough to remove only that line, and then save the file.
    Sorry that I did not make that more clear; sorry!!

    In short about HOSTS:
    When you type in a url in your browser, like www.wilders.org , then that url has to be translated to an IP-number: 64.77.80.69 .
    The internet does not understand url's only IP-numbers.
    So there must be translation made.
    That translation takes place via the so-called DNS-nameservers of your provider or maybe even higher up on the internet. Those DNS-name-servers have huge tables where url's and IP-numbers are matched.
    But before Windows goes to a DNS-server, it first looks at your HOSTS file. It could be that in your HOSTS is already such a translation done.

    Now what about this line:
    127.0.0.1 a248.e.akamai.net
    It is a trick !!! Because that number 127.0.0.1 is NOT the real IP-number of a248.e.akamai.net .
    127.0.0.1 is your own machine, always !!!
    So instead of making a connection to a248.e.akamai.net, a connection is made to your own machine and NO in-/outbound connection was made.
    It is exactly THAT trick that is used to "fool" windows by some ad-blocking programs, and by the HOSTS file of Steve Martin and others.

    When the Blaster worm arrived, MS decided to make changes to their servers and hired exactly that server a248.e.akamai.net from Akamai.
    Unfortunately that server was also blocked by some ad-blocking programs. That is why you and I had to remove that line from Hosts.

    Some more info about HOSTS can be found here:
    http://accs-net.com/hosts/
    Other links can be found here:
    http://www.smartin-designs.com/
    PS: alas, Steve Martin does not any longer maintain his Hosts file.

    Best regards, Jan.
     
  20. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Thanks Jan, looking forward to learning more about them. I considered not zapping the whole file, but when I looked inside there was a mile long list of references of nothing but a248.e.akamai.net or minor variations of it and nothing else but, so just said bye, bye to it. Hopefully I don't need that particular sub-folder, but couldn''t think of a reason why if that's all it had in it.

    Thanks for the additional info. Rickster
     
  21. Rickster

    Rickster Guest

    Oh, I forgot to add that many of the same entries in the host file I zapped were also listed in a host file for NAV (though not as repetitious and lengthly) and that file had an extension, so may be academic. Time to close this thread (sigh of relief from the crowd). I'm trying to find the two lost brain cells I had on how I corrected the "No Sound" problem in another thread, to help - but can't guarantee I'll remember (too many Led Zepplin concerts when I was a kid.)

    Thanks again, Rickster
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.