Win XP has locked me out :(

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by FireDancer, Dec 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    Hi all,

    I have win xp home on my better machine and one of my roommates thought it might be funny to logg on my pc and set a password on boot.... well needless to say I no longer have 2 roommates :D anyways I need to know if there is a way to get around the password and clear it out in bios?

    It shows set but asks for the current password to be able to change it uggggh
    I need help, any would be appreciated and I am sorry in advance if this is the wrong forum.

    Regards,
    FireDancer :mad:
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    You could try booting in safe ... to access the admin account and change/delete that accounts password from there (same proceedure / control panel - user accounts). Tap F8 while booting to start safe mode ... option 1.

    dog - *puppy*
     
  3. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    thanks dog,

    but it didnt work :( I really need to get into this pc it has all my work on it

    FireDancer
     
  4. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi FireDancer,

    Are you saying they set a BIOS boot password? If so, you can clear it by shutting down your system, disconnect the power cord, open the case, and remove the small battery on your motherboard. Put it back after about 30 seconds. Reconnect the power and restart.

    Nick
     
  5. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    Nick,

    no the password is on the desktop at boot. any ideas? btw this is a laptop

    FD
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2004
  6. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi FD, ;)

    Just to be clear ... Are we talking about your Win XP logon user password? If, yes ... what I suggested does work, I just tested it, and reset my logon password. Or is the Admin. account locked too.

    dog - *puppy*
     
  7. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2004
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    FireDancer, I have sent you a PM.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  10. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    thanks all but nothing is working, I boot to safe mode and xp still asks for my logon password... I guess im screwd.... :( I can afford to loose this work in my laptop... it is worth over 100,000 dollars ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh what nowo_Oo_Oo_O?


    firedancer
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Have you tried burning the image in the link that Meneer posted?
     
  12. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    no I have not as I am not real handy with that stuff...but I will try
     
  13. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    And if all seems lost, boot from a linux live cd, or install linux, and copy all those precious files to another drive. Linux knows how to read ntfs and knows how to copy. It doesn't know about windows accounts, who cares?

    btw: this does not work if you use EFS (file encryption). But why would you use efs when there are other solutions....
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Well I wouldn't then, do not proceed any further. It is time to take your laptop into a computer shop and have a Tech look at it. Get the tech to remove your hard drive, and burn an image, then go onto the link above and follow the instructions. This way you have a backup on disc if something goes wrong. In such case you can restore the image and try an alternative approach.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  15. meneer

    meneer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    1,132
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Like Blakespear said, if you're a bit uncertain, take care.
    You could do worse then try to run a linux live-cd. It is riskless, doesn't interfere with your windows setup and might let you copy data to a usb stick.

    Don't fear, it's all in a graphical user interface. Get knoppix, most user friendly.
     
  16. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    welp fellas I guess all is lost.... I am due to submit the work files tomorrow in the am to my boss LOL it's his 100 grand!!!! thanks anyways for the help.

    FireDancer
     
  17. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  18. FireDancer

    FireDancer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    316
    ineni60,

    thanks it seems to be working i followed instructions as you gave and got into user accounts and deleted the account and let windows continue on when it is done i will create the account over again..will let you know how it all turns out thanks again

    FireDancer
     
  19. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i didnt realise that you'd go ahead and do it straight away without being totally certain about it. i would have tried it out first for you if you'd asked, as i have nothing important on my PC. i hope it works for you.
     
  20. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, iceni60

    Magic one to you iceni60. :eek:

    Where would we be with out the OS-CD and the Magical Repair Install. :D


    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  21. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    im abit worried about it not working for SP2 :doubt: , i suppose we'll find out soon.
     
  22. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, iceni60

    No Worries :rolleyes:

    The repairer is there. :)

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.