Win Installer broke

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rainwalker, Oct 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Greetings........Windows Installer is broke on my system.......no need to mention what a huge problem this is. Is there a tool to fix it. I would rather not go into the registry manually and attempt to repair it...
     
  2. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    I saw that link prior to my posting, but thought it would need the installer to install itself
    :blink:
     
  4. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    No, this installs the Win-Installer application and the needed service again. That's all you have to do :thumb:
     
  5. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Greetings Tommy......this did not work...i tried in both Normal and Safe mode.....any other considerations ?
     
  6. ravin

    ravin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    South Carolina
  7. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    One thing after another with you! :D;)

    Here, most common Windows Installer issues on one page, 'bout a third of the way's down on Kelly's Korner.
    ~ Not sure why nobody ever think's to look there first. Oh well .... ~

    Edit: Just in case .... do you have an "Official" install source of sp2, or your source is sp1 and sp2 was through update?
    Msi version? Is the Recovery Console available (again, just in case)?

    Edit II: Forum comment about the program mentioned in the post below mine, plus one other you may find of interest.


    GF
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2006
  9. osip

    osip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Posts:
    610
    I suggest that you make a "googling" after a splendid little freebe called dial-a-fix...It has repair functions for win installer issues...
     
  10. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks all....no time at the moment to look at links, but will do so soon.......as i said my system got very corrupted and i have been slowly getting it back together...........really HATE reinstalling the OS so i bang away............thanks again :)
     
  11. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    "As I said, my system got very .... and I have been slowly" Exploration's in futility?

    Trying to re-assemble and straighten out what your experiencing is for some of us a complete waste of you know what. It usually take's day's unless your an outright engineer, even then I'd remain skeptical. :cautious: Tell me you could re-install with all your driver's, program's (take's what, less than a minute for the average install), and setting's (as registry edit's merged - one, two, three) laid down in no more than three to five hour's instead of the countless day's and day's fumbling around dealing with an over-abundance of error messages and whathaveyou's and I'd say without question, "GET A MOVE ON!"

    Envision .... a brand spanking new system free from probably most nonsense we window's user's go through on what sometime's seem's a daily basis, a chance to NOT install app's we sort of questioned important, lay down a couple of partition's for experimentation (if you were to choose), not to mention integrating sp1/sp2 source file's the right way (in case sp2 wasn't included on the source install). Good practice in case the time's between get to long, lest we forget. :eek:

    Is it me, or are there many other's out there who have a hard time viewing it this way? :D Hey, on the bright side such a problem present's opportunity of it's own in the form of individual solution's for web traveller's with isolated system shortcoming's .... has to make someone's day every now and then!

    Best of luck to you all the same RW in your "struggle to persevere." Know there's a motivated support group here for you and anyone else who might be venturing for a fix!


    GF
     
  12. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you for taking the time to write as you did GF.....i am aware of all you wrote, but first and foremost, i should have mentioned way back when, I AM STUBBORN...........yes, one could go and on, concerning the pros and cons of such a view, but i is what i is..........i have always known that time is drawing closer to the dreaded reinstall.......i use dialup
    thanks again though...
    BTW would you share your brand of coffee :D
     
  13. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Hello Raven...The download seems to install ok, but does not.......still receive error message...
     
  14. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
  15. ravin

    ravin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    South Carolina
    If you have your OS system disk trying running sfc /scannow at a command prompt to correct system file errors.:cool:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 15, 2006
  16. tgell

    tgell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Posts:
    1,076
    Rainwalker,
    Do you use firefox. Sometimes when I used firefox, I could not see the whole page on these support sites of Microsoft. Anyway, here is method #2

    Method 2: Reinstall the Windows Installer
    To reinstall the Windows Installer, rename the damaged Windows Installer files, and then reinstall the Windows Installer. To do so: 1. Click Start, and then click Run.
    2. In the Open box, type cmd, and then click OK.
    3. At the command prompt, type the following line, and then press ENTER, where Drive is the drive where Windows is installed and where %Windir% is the folder where Windows is installed:
    attrib -r -s -h drive:\%Windir%\system32\dllcache
    For example, type
    attrib -r -s -h c:\windows\system32\dllcache
    Note If you are using Windows 98, type system instead of system32.
    4. At the command prompt, type the following lines, pressing ENTER after each line:
    ren msi.dll msi.old
    ren msiexec.exe msiexec.old
    ren msihnd.dll msihnd.old
    5. At the command prompt, type exit, and then press ENTER.
    6. Restart your computer.
    7. Update the Windows Installer files on your hard disk to the latest version. Windows Installer 2.0 is available for download from the Microsoft Download Center. • For Windows Millennium Edition, Windows 98 Second Edition (SE), and Windows 98:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...d8-c094-4255-b702-de3bb768148f&displaylang=en (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...d8-c094-4255-b702-de3bb768148f&displaylang=en)
    • For Windows 2000 and Windows NT 4.0:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...f9-2d36-4977-8fa1-6f8a0f5dca8f&DisplayLang=en (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...f9-2d36-4977-8fa1-6f8a0f5dca8f&DisplayLang=en)
    • For Windows XP: For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    893803 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/893803/) Windows Installer 3.1 v2 (3.1.4000.2435) is available
     
  17. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    my windows installer always use to break. the easist fix for me was to merge the MSI registry settings back in to the registry. it should be safe to just double click and merge, but it's probably safer to save the key first, or just make a registry backup.
    http://www.dougknox.com/xp/fileassoc/msi_assoc.zip

    the download is from this page -
    http://www.dougknox.com/xp/file_assoc.htm

    MSI File Association Fix (Restore default associations for MSI files)

    you can also make sure the srvices is starting up correctly if that doesn't work.
     
  18. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
  19. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    UPDATE: I got installer working...the only thing that worked was re-installing SP2.....thanks again to all...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.