Win Enterprise Server 2003 - Patches Break TI?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by NAL44, Aug 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Hello!

    Have a server running Windows Enterprise Server 2003 with SP1.

    Acronis version is Server 8, build 1018 (the last one available).

    After installing Microsoft's last 2 security updates - KB914388 and KB917159 - my scheduled backups began to fail, and network access to the server was thereafter denied.

    Just removed the security updates, and ran automatic rescheduled backups with no problems.

    Support - have you any info on this and/or has anyone else experience this problem after installing the updates?
     
  2. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Update - It appears the patches listed DO break TI 8 (or something else) on my server running Win Enterprise Server 2003 - since uninstalling them, my scheduled backups have run OK.

    Has no one else run into this?

    Any comments from Acronis Support?
     
  3. rderimay

    rderimay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Having the same problem on small business with all patches installed.
    I did not try to deinstall anything.

    What is the behaviour you are experiencing? Trying to create a backup, I click on the Acronis Backup Server in the tree, and nothing happens, I can not manage to get the "Next >" button activated...

    Thanks!

    RD
     
  4. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Whatever was happening occurred only with my 2 daily automatic scheduled backups, and took my network down (the server remainined running but communication with workstations was not possible), so I didn't try to run Acronis 8 until after a reboot.

    Therefore I can't say what its exact behavior might have been while the network was down, but since the Acronis configuration is dependent on the network being UP, I am sure I would have gotten errors.

    Once the server was rebooted, bringing my network back up, I could initiate my 2 backups manually using the "start now" option, and they ran successfully. The next time the 2 backups tried to run autmatically, the network was taken down again. In the first instance the first scheduled backup ran and the second failed; in the following two instances both backups failed.

    Suggest you try and determine what patches you installed after your last successful Acronis run, and uninstall them.

    Good luck!

    PS - Just checked my automatic Saturday morning backup to Acronis Secure Zone - it failed - could not see anything useful in the Log.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2006
  5. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Update to Secure Zone backup - ran it manually and it succeeded; then did a test automatic - assume it failed as the network is now down - same problem! And this with the patches uninstalled! Sheesh!
     
  6. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Another update - even with the Microsoft patches uninstalled, Monday night the first backup succeeded; the second one failed and took the network down again.

    After server was rebooted, I did a reinstall/repair of ATI 8, and started failed backup manually - It has an hour left to go.

    Acronis Support - any ideas? It seems I am not alone in having this sort of problem with automatic backups.

    Thanks!
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello NAL44,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Server Backup Software.

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Please make sure that the Acronis Scheduler 2 Service is started and both schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe processes are running (use Windows Task Manager).

    Please note that you can run the schedhlp.exe and schedul2.exe (\Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2) manually in Windows Task Manager (File->New Task) or do the following:

    - Download schedmgr.exe application;

    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;

    - Run the following command in the folder you saved the file to: schedmgr.exe service start

    If that does not help then please download the latest version of Acronis drivers, install it with disabled logging and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists then enable logging by running the Acronis drivers installation package once again, reproduce the problem and collect the c:\snapapi.log file. Please also Windows System Information that as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  8. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Hello,Aleksandr!

    I am relieved to see your reply, as the problems continue.

    Will follow your instructions and post results asap.

    Thanks!
    NAL
     
  9. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Just checked server - here is the info this morning -

    "TI encountered an error and needs to close" -
    Error window appeared 3 times.

    Error Window 1
    szAppName : TrueImageService.exe szAppVer : 8.0.0.1018
    szModName : TrueImageService.exe szModVer : 8.0.0.1018 offset : 000ef9b7

    Technical Info - I neglected to display the tech info this first time, but assume from info below that it is likely identical.
    ---------------------------

    Error Window 2
    szAppName : TrueImageService.exe szAppVer : 8.0.0.1018
    szModName : TrueImageService.exe szModVer : 8.0.0.1018 offset : 000ef9b7

    Technical Info
    C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\1\WERa41c.dir00\TrueImageService.exe.mdmp
    C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\1\WERa41c.dir00\appcompat.txt
    ---------------------------

    Error Window 3
    szAppName : TrueImageService.exe szAppVer : 8.0.0.1018
    szModName : TrueImageService.exe szModVer : 8.0.0.1018 offset : 000ef9b7

    Technical Info
    C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\1\WERa41c.dir00\TrueImageService.exe.mdmp
    C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\1\WERa41c.dir00\appcompat.txt
    ---------------------------

    NOTES - First backup succeeded; Second backup failed.
    Network was NOT taken down in this instance.
    I have the log file of the failed backup if it is needed.


    -------------------------------
    Acronis status per your instr after collecting above information -

    TI program - NOT running
    Acronis Scheduler 2 Service - IS running
    schedhlp.exe - IS running
    schedul2.exe - NOT running

    -------------------------------
    Restarted TI - Checked Status again -

    Acronis Scheduler 2 Service - IS running
    schedhlp.exe - IS running
    schedul2.exe - NOT running - I started it manually via Task Manager and it showed in the listing


    -------------------------------
    Edited schedule so failed backup would start automatically.
    Checked status again -

    schedhlp.exe - IS running
    schedul2.exe - NOT running

    Rescheduled Backup started on time and appears to be running OK - no immediate failure.

    When backup is finished, will go ahead with the rest of your instructions and post results - Thanks!
     
  10. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Backup completed successfully.

    1 - Ran schedmgr.exe from command prompt as instructed.

    Status after starting TI:
    schedul2.exe is NOT running
    schedhlp.exe IS running
    Scheduler2 service IS running.

    2 - Installed Latest Version Acronis Drivers as instructed.
    Received error message to the effect that the installation did not complete, an error was detected - no other details.

    Rebooted, ended both schedhlp.exe and TrueImageMonitor in Task Manager, then Drivers install went OK.
    Rebooted again.

    Status:
    schedul2.exe is NOT running
    schedhlp.exe IS running
    Scheduler2 service IS running.


    Will continue to monitor and post updates.
    Thanks!
    NAL
     
  11. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello NAL44,

    Please accept our apologies for the delay with the response.

    Could you please do the following?

    - Download schedmgr.exe application;

    - Open the command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);

    - Run the following command in the folder the schedmgr.exe file was saved to:

    schedmgr get report > schedreport.txt

    - Collect schedreport.txt;

    - Run Acronis Schedule Manager program (schedmgr.exe);

    - Issue the following command:

    set logflags support

    - Schedule backup creation once again;

    - Wait until the scheduled backup will fail;

    - Collect the log file schedul2.log that is placed in the \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\Schedule2 folder.

    Please also create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
  12. NAL44

    NAL44 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Hello Aleksandr!

    The backup has not failed since I did the steps described in your last post about 2 weeks ago.

    I will follow the instructions you have just given and post results.

    Thank you very much for your assistance!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.