Win embedded POSReady tweak broken? + more

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by luciddream, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    I recently did a fresh install of Windows XP Pro to a computer. Upon trying to update it IE gave me a message on top of the screen that Windows Update no longer worked with XP, 2000, Server, etc... when updating manually. I thought that maybe if I set it up to automatically update that it'd work, as I remember a few months ago this would work if I went into Automatic Updates in the Control Panel and set it to do so instead of updating manually as I'd always done in the past. But it still didn't work, unless I was doing something wrong.

    And so I applied the POSready registry tweak to see if that would make it work. But still, when I went to use Windows Update I got the same message about XP, 2000, Sever, etc... no longer being supported. But I swear I saw this tweak work on another machine before. That one wasn't freshly formatted/clean though. Will it not work on a clean box? Or have they found a way around this tweak now? And if the latter, is there a new method to accomplish this?

    To sum up... I have a freshly formatted box and I'd like to be able to put XP Pro SP3 on it and to be able to run Windows Update on it to update it. Is there even a way to accomplish this anymore?

    I don't consider a slipstreamed disc with all the patches on it a fullproof option because each computer is different and require different drivers to make it work properly, especially if it has video/sound/etc... cards (hardware) on it that are unique to each box, which mine has. And it's handy how Windows Update's "Hardware" section can detect all that stuff and list the appropriate drivers. But if it comes down to it I could live with that, and find the necessary drivers later. So if you could direct me to a source where I could find such a thing I'd be much abliged. Or I'd be willing to compensate anyone for their services.

    So is there something I'm doing wrong here in applying this POSready tweak? Has it been broken, or modified since? If so is there a new way that does work, and work on a freshly formatted box? I guess I could find the drivers I need later on if need be, but the main thing is to get the critical & optional patches and worry about that rest later.

    If you want to respond via PM instead I'd be much abliged. Thanks.

    I want to put XP Pro SP3 on a SSD on this one box, but fear now that I cannot.
     
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,068
    I'm having Windows XP installed in virtual machine. I have set up POSready tweak and was getting update until approx. half a year ago. Now I only get Malicious Software Removal Tool. They might have changed something and this tweak doesn't work any more. Since I use this machine only for testing, I never looked for another workaround...
     
  3. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    There is, or was, an App i used that scanned my comp for installed MS updates. It then showed what were missing, & then gave me a list of Critical/Important/etc to choose from. Each of these had a Direct link to the TechWeb www which explained the issue/s & a download link for the update/patch. I only installed mostly the Critical ones.

    I can't remember the name of it, but it was Extremely useful & free. If i can recall it, i'll post back with the name/link. Possibly others may help recall it ? I'm thinking that maybe, those Direct links might still work !

    This was a number of years ago before i reinstalled XP/SP2 & never installed Any updates etc from MS, for various reasons.

    Fair enough MS doesn't update XP now, but they must still have All the patches etc for it. So if people want to re/install it & whatever patches etc, why shouldn't they be allowed to ?
     
  4. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Waste of space in their server that they could use to update windows 7;8;8.1;10, I have a box with XP SP3 with a burned out power supply that I eventually to put into service.
     
  5. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    There is the "windows update downloader" which allows you to download the updates via its own gui.
     
  6. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    its by Jean Sebastien Carle
     
  7. Sampei Nihira

    Sampei Nihira Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    658
    Location:
    Italy
    http://www.msfn.org/board/topic/173...t-working-on-windows-2000xp2003/#entry1089383

    (Read post written by b3270791 from Italy)

    Ciao.
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Actually, thinking about it more, it wasn't a program/app, but rather a www that scanned your comp to discover what was missing. Perfectly safe & respectable company, i just can't recall the name right now !
     
  9. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
  10. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    I've just remembered the name of that great updater checking App.

    Belarc Advisor http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

    The reason i thought it might be www, is because after scanning your comp it displays the results in a HTML page locally. It also shows a lot of other info about your installed software & hardware.
    bel.png

    http://www.belarc.com/cgi-bin/qferefer?Q873339 -> https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/873339

    Each MS link would show TechNet details about the issue, & provide a link to DL the update. Now all i get is a general info page. So the XP links definately don't work anymore via that option.

    Still, i expect for currect OS's, it might !
     
Loading...