Win 7 SP1 firewall still active with ESET too

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by poluxbgames, Mar 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    Hello,

    i've seen since the installation of the Win 7 SP1 ( 64bits ) that the firewall (of windows ) ask me for some trafic authorisations sometimes... but it's disabled on security center...??! Eset smart security is active too ( firewall work fine ) and nothing is going wrong but it's strange...
    When i go to firewall properties on windows, it seems to be active for private network but disabled for public... but on security center it's disabled..

    Everything work fine but is it normal??
     
  2. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
  3. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    Thanks for reply!
    when i go to control panel, security, show firewalls installed, it show:
    ESET activated and Windows firewall Off..
    but if i go to 'control panel', windows firewall, it shows: Private network: activated...
    the firewall seems to be half activated... since the windows 7 SP1 installation... on security tab of control panel, it's off but on Firewall tab it's on... certainly a bug..
    it seems that all working good but sometimes i've two firewall message that appears, ESET and windows...
     
  4. STRYDER

    STRYDER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    I have seen this as well. Windows Firewall services are indeed left on after ESS is installed. I have WIN7 64bit
     
  5. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    The Win FW will be OFF but the service will be running!

    If you disable the service you will not have full control of the Sharing Options.

    I disable it and edited the reg so all my sharing is totally off as have no need for them, so mines state "custom" instead of normal status which AFAIR is enable or disabled or on and off.
     
  6. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    If firewall is 'off', Windows Firewall service will not interfere with anything except it will keep tracks of new networks (Public, Home, and Work).
     
  7. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    The Win FW service is not needed for the above, the Action Centre does all that even with Win FW service disabled.
     
  8. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    If you fully disable windows firewall from services you may get some software install problems. I had about 3 games that roll back just before installation completed with an unknown error.
    This was due to them failing to create a rule in windows firewall, you can work around this but it does no harm just to turn windows firewall off (or let eset do it.)
     
  9. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Never had an issue, again if you simply turn off the Win FW (not service) how can it create a rule while a game is installing?

    Makes no sense!
     
  10. tony_m

    tony_m Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Posts:
    239
    When you say "sometimes i've two firewall message that appears, ESET and windows..."

    Could you please take a screen shot of what you see and share it with us here?

    Thank you!
     
  11. poluxbgames

    poluxbgames Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Paris
    I will do when it will append again ;)
    in fact, the windows firewall ask me if i want to let an application to access network, and ESET firewall too.
    But nothing seems to doesn't work, and no slow on network or so...
     
  12. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    I have 64 custom rules in windows firewall for applications and it's never been on.
     
  13. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    As soon as I set up Vista (30 months old install still running fine) I reset all rules for Win FW after ESET was installed and totally disabled it and have zero rules in it when I checked right now.

    Same goes for Win 7 though it is is a younger install.
     
  14. terradon

    terradon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    78
    Out of curiosity, I checked Windows Firewall on my system. Win7 64 bit SP1, clean installed. It is turned off, but, I, too have many inbound and outbound rules. More than 20 have Yes in the enable column. I'll attach the inbound csv as an example. Could this be a cause for for significant slowdowns at times?

    ESS 4.2.71.2
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.