Win 1 year TrustPort Total Security 2012 License

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sm1, Sep 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Running it on dummy OS :D
     
  2. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Been using it for a while, my early conclusions as of now are this:

    -When you're doing an On Demad scan, it makes the PC almost unusable (At least mine does that)
    -Surfing the web seems to have been affected greatly, as i said earlier i am using this in my dummy OS which never had a single security software installed previously. Everything was smooth while surfing until i installed Trustport, every time i open a new TAB it freezes or when i click on "Post" it takes like 30 seconds to load completely, page rendering seems to be affected a lot also (Probably due to HTTP Scanner) :D
    -About system performance well, i only do basic things on this PC so as of now, no noticeable performance impact :)
     
  3. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    :rolleyes: You've just been spoiled by that 450% speed increase in EAM that's all.
     
  4. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Philippines
    LOL, seriously? I'm currently using Trustport Antivirus 2012 (your free Total Protection serial will also work on "just" the AV version) and Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware Pro on my MSI Wind U100 machine (as per sig), seems like running three AV/AM engines can be fun. This computer is still super usable.
     
  5. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Hahahaha really, it lags my PC a lot when doing On Demand scans :D (I cannot even browse the web while scanning)
    Startup is also a lot slower than before :)

    Also as i said for some reason IE 9 is MUCH MUCH slower rendering and when i'm using multiple tabs sometimes the tabs freezes and it says "Website is not running, Close Window" and pops up a menu saying "Recover Website". I'm gonna take a screenie the next time it happens
     
  6. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Philippines
    Then again, I'm using Win XP, might be OS related, no?
     
  7. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    I'm running Win 7 x64 :D (I ran a full scan yesterday to see if performance increases)
     
  8. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    280
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hmm, try waiting for the "pre-scan of system files" to complete, then run a full scan afterwards, see if the performance improves.
     
  9. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Got tired of this, uninstalled.
    It makes multi tab browsing useless, everytime i opened multiple tabs simultaneously it freezes the browser for 20 secs and crashes many tabs and then works.

    In summary based on my experience, stay away from this as of now! :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
  10. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I uninstalled because the web protection module seemed to be permanently disabled in my case.

    Performance wise on the CPU there wasn't much of an issue but with bugs still in the software there isn't much chance of it beating competitors yet.
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    Found out it's an error. Gave up, because there are little benefits, and I'm not installing this and WAIK again.

    Has anyone use it though?
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  12. echtp

    echtp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Posts:
    30
    Makes my pc (Windows 7 64) very, very slow. In fact I have not seen an antivirus that heavy in years!
     
  13. keen

    keen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Boonies of the Milky Way
    Something interesting...if you use a key to register TP USB, then use the same code for Total Protection, you get AVG and Vipre. Quite a bit faster, but is the detection effected much?
     
  14. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,491
    Luckily it wasn't just me :D
    I always like, hmmm i woder how everyone gets it running smoothly o_O
     
  15. clayieee

    clayieee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    260
    It runs smoothly on me, only the start up, its slower as they dont allow you to open programs unless the real time protection started

    see the Advance Settings
     
  16. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    567
    My laptop takes a long time to start. Updates takes forever to be applied. IE9 and Adobe Reader crashed. Didn't expect these things as the previous build (4793) was good. Uninstalled and back to Eset 5.
     
  17. zhianzee

    zhianzee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Should I try it? Please anyone help me I am just new to this kind of things.
     
  18. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,807
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    It has got good detections but the system impact is unpredictable as can be seen from above posts... Take risk and try it out, you could be the winner...:thumb:
     
  19. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
  20. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    thank you,
    but
    if i will use trustport , i must to buy SUPER COMPUTER
    coz
    trustport very heavy on the computer and its eat the ram

    thanx
     
  21. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I installed the Internet Security version last night, using the Total Protection key. Runs very light on my PC, just a slightly longer boot time, maybe 5 seconds or so. Any programs I opened started with no lagging, including Firefox & IE 9. Finished fingerprinting my system in about 30 minutes, and an initial quick scan took less than 10 minutes. So far, I'm very impressed with this suite.
    BTW, I had emailed TrustPort support, and they verified the Total Protection key would work on Internet Security, and the AV only as well.
     
  22. clayieee

    clayieee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    260
    My online games, I cant play them even if I exclude them and created a rule in the firewall
     
  23. Cimmerian

    Cimmerian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Posts:
    410
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Did you look in the Parental Control options to see if gaming is one of the options, and possibly set to restrict? I don't remember seeing it, but it might be there.
     
  24. cryostasis23

    cryostasis23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Installed on my computer(Newly formatted.installed Windows7 32bit) and I was shocked aboutt he Memory Usage which jumped from 1GB to 1.3GB but after a few hours it went below that and it stayed at around 800-850 mb. The lowest ive seen is around 500mb.

    Im using google chrome when browsing the net and did not notice any delays when browsing the net or even when downloading softwares. The only thing i noticed after installing it would be the startup time of the computer which is slower. Will continue playing with this program for the next few days.

    Does anyone know if the serial provided needs to be activated immediately upon receiving it? Or can I use the key next year as I got two keys from them.
     
  25. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,807
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Same impression here. Installed it on my Xp Pro x32 3GB RAM computer. Very well done Trustport...:) Great Improvement.:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.