Will True Image save your bacon?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by fishmaster, Nov 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fishmaster

    fishmaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    42.25N -89W
    Well what can I say. Depending on the platform or hardware. You may have a 50-50 chance. Although TI has been somewhat beneficial at times to me on me desktop. My laptop has been a different story. Particularly when it deals with using a USB drive. How many folks upgraded to the new version 10? Its suppose to do a whole lot more cool things. Its real simple. Bottom line if one advertises about certain functions and enhancements. Then they should &%#$ work. If they only work part of the time on only certain 'ideal' conditions then that is a half truth or false advertising. Put it simply... a lie. What really ticks me off is that one 'buys' a product based on claims & is to suppose to save a considerable amount of time (when it works right) ends up costing MORE %$&^* time. Not to mention the aggravation. Did I mention that MY TIME IS WORTH SOMETHING TOO!! I get so fed up with marketing lies & schemes. Just tell the ^()%$% truth. ALL OF IT. A half truth is a WHOLE lie... Enhance this users experience ,,!,,
    Not a happy camper with software companies consistent false claims and half functioning products.
    TI has cost me more bacon in time and aggravation not to mention the money to buy it.
     
  2. Ralphie

    Ralphie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Posts:
    952
    Location:
    Florida
    Explain, please. You can get excellent help in this forum for the majority of problems with TI.
     
  3. Andrej

    Andrej Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Posts:
    10
  4. seething

    seething Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Posts:
    29
    I've been making images to a WD external usb drive for the past year. Never had to use it so i didn't really have confidence that it would work.

    Yesterday i wanted to try a transformation pack, so i made a full image to my usb drive. Having more confidence in Goback, i installed that because it saved me so many times i knew it would work.

    Upon rebooting i blue screened with a irq not less or equal whatever. I could only get in the OS in safe mode, and couldn't uninstall Goback in safe mode, i was screwed.

    Booted off the TI rescue disk and restored my image from yesterday, it worked flawlessly. I know my system is almost bulletproof now, and no i will not upgrade from TI 8. Absolutely no reason to. It works and thats all that matters.

    TI saved my bacon this morning.
     
  5. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Have you raised a trouble ticket (support call) with Acronis? I have for my problem and ATI are working towards a resolution. I have a temporary work around for my issue anyway (Bart PE disk with Acronis plugin for recovery purposes).

    Phasechange
     
  6. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    The fact that you cannot get TI to work and the general moaning nature of your post says more about you than anything specific with about Acronis.


    Xpilot
     
  7. thomasjk

    thomasjk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Yes, Fishmaster it will save your bacon. It just saved my bacon on my desktop this morning and also enabled me to install a new larger harddrive in my laptop last week. In both cases TI V9.0 B3677 performed flawlessly for me. The issue of external drive support in the Linux based rescue environment is well known and easily solvable by using BartPE http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/ with one of Mustang's plugins http://www.mechrest.com/plugins/. Acronis even supplies its own plugin for BartPE. BartPe is a windows based environment so drivers are not much of an issue. Linux drivers for external drives are not usually optimized for performance and Acronis has to keep updating their drivers every time new hardware comes along. Its a lot easier to operate in a windows environment for me. My times probably not as important as yours but instead of complaining I took an alternate approach to the Rescue environment.:) YMMV. Oh, its the best 29.99 I ever spent (download from Newegg.com).
     
  8. cmar

    cmar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    I'm in the same boat as you. I can use TI 10 to create backups to external media from a Dell 8300 and a Dell XPS 410 but have no way to recover the backups. There is no way to create a bootable media and though I can create a Secure Zone, there seems no way to use it.
    So TI may work with some systems but not with others.
     
  9. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    External HDDs sometimes have a problem here and there. I prefer networked storage and/or HDDs in removable bays
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello fishmaster,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for the delayed response.

    If you could provide us with some additional information and describe the issue you have experienced in more details we will be able to investigate it thoroughly and provide you with a possible solution.

    - What exactly did you try to perform?

    - Did you use Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue Media or did you use Acronis True Image in Windows?

    - Did you received any error messages?

    I may assume that you have problems with using external USB hard drive when booted from Acronis True Image Bootable CD. If this is the case please try booting with "acpi=off noapic" parameter as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    If the above workaround does not help, please Please create Acronis Report and Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post. Please keep your external USB hard drive connected while creating Acronis Report and Linux system information. Then follow phasechange advice and Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Aleksandr Isakov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.