Will there be any mention in some log when Nod recently blocked a webiste?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by strwberryiqourcake, Oct 2, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. strwberryiqourcake

    strwberryiqourcake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    HI, I' m using Nod32 v4
    4.2.58.3

    In the event Nod32 automaticaly blockes a website, will there be a notification of this event in some log somewhere?

    it happened to me last night some website got blocked. and nod32 displayed a message within the browser of Firefox itself. Saying the website was blocked. Nothign wrong here. But then I got curious and try to look it up in th elogs. But couldnt find any mention of it.
     
  2. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    there is no integration (as nod32 and some email client) of nod32 in FF, I think it is FF that blocked a website, not the AV. I know that Opera, Firefox and may be some other browser can detect some dangerous website

    Did you see "nod32" or "Eset" somewhere in the notification ?
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  3. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  4. Sacles

    Sacles Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Location:
    Belgique
  5. strwberryiqourcake

    strwberryiqourcake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    yes it did. the warning was dispalyed in a message within the firefox window, and not in a floating one.
    It did say nod32 all over and even gave a long cryptic name for the source within the message.

    I was researching people who visited my facebook through google. I searched for "sander vd donk uden" and this is the link I clicked which gave the warning:

    -http://www.sandervanderdonk.com/-
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 3, 2011
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Submit the link you posted to ESET for analysis. Under Internet Explorer 8 I am seeing a flag for that site as well. To confirm your observations, I see the flag in full view in my Browser window with a floating flag in the system tray.
     
  7. piranha

    piranha Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    623
    Location:
    Laval, Qu?bec, Canada
    i go to the website with Opera browser, NOD32 block it here too.
     
  8. strwberryiqourcake

    strwberryiqourcake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    Thank you for the confirmations guys! Bc. sometimes I'm just too affraid attack sites might know what AV users have on their computers. Show a false pop-up when entering the sebsite and users might click the false mention. Thanks!
     
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  10. strwberryiqourcake

    strwberryiqourcake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    17
    One final question, should Nod32 make any mention in any log somewhere? I didnt see the popup when a blocked site occured bc I turned that option off. So I'm just curious if Nod mentions it somewhere.

    Thanks
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Your query was answered in this post within this thread.

    Thank you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.