Will changing IP addresses affect ESET?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ralvy, Aug 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ralvy

    ralvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    If I use a hosted VPN service that issues me a different IP address each time I boot up, will ESET think I need more licenses because it will think I'm running it from a different computer each time I boot up?
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Short answer NO.

    I get new IP's from my ISP every now and then without issues.

    My knowledge is that ESET only checks that your Username and Password is the right one, by pinging the ESET servers.

    So, NO the IP don't matter in this case ;)
     
  3. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    No. the vast majority of the ISPs out there hand out dynamics addresses as a matter of routine, so there's absolutely zero chance of this being an issue.



    Jim

    EDIT SweX just beat me to it. I must learn to type quicker :)
     
  4. ralvy

    ralvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Yep. Forgot about that. Thanks to both of you.
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Haha Jim, you should know that I (and many others) have been in your situation before as well;)
    But hey I know the feeling....
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.