Will Acronis do a system backup for both XP and Vista, dual boot separate hard drives

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Icklewabbit, Jun 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Icklewabbit

Icklewabbit Registered Member

Hi folks i'm a bit of a noob so apologies if i ask a stupid question.

So my new PC has XP32 on one HD, and Vista64 on the other. I have to select which drive to boot from at the start by pressing F8. Otherwise i have it set to default to the Vista64 HD. But both drives can be accessed from either operating system via explorer/my computer.

I have 1 copy of Acronis True Image 11 and was hoping thus:

If i install Acronis to my Vista drive and select the full system backup to create a bootable DVD for emergencies, will this also backup my XP drive and restore it to a bootable state if my system does fail on me??

Or would i have to install Acronis twice; once on each HD and do 2 seperate system backups??

Your help would be much appreciated :)

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Make the bootable True Image Rescue Media cd, boot with it and choose Backup. In the window where you have to select drives to backup see if it will let you select more than one drive. My guess is that it will only let you backup one drive at a time.

3. Icklewabbit

Hey drty, thanks for the quick reply. I was thinking along the same lines. So i guess the best way to find out is to try it. Hopefully, there are some detailed readme's on the ATT11 dvd, as the pamphlet with it only has 2 pages :D. Cheers.

4. DwnNdrty

Well you wouldn't have to actually do a backup ... only go as far as selecting the drives to backup.

5. Wandering2

Wandering2 Registered Member