Wilders>Zonelab User Forum on passlock problem?!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by kwesi, Mar 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kwesi

    kwesi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Hi. I've posted on this topic in the Zonelab users forum without success, but the problem is as follows.

    I'm not sure whether I need to try to re-set my ZAP 5.5.094 database, as I can't find the 'enable passlock' feature under the list of options when I right-click on an individual program in Program Control. It's been a while since I last used ZAP 5.5 (I was using ZAP 6.5 for a bit), so I honestly can't remember for sure that ZAP 5 has always had the feature.

    Could 'enable privacy' somehow be a replacement for 'enable passlock'?

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Passlock has nothing to do with 'Privacy'. The enable Privacy section is only enabled in Browsers such as IE, Windows Explorer (which can act as a Browser), or an AV Guard if it has a Web Scanner, this will facilitate the correct working of the Privacy section of ZAP enabling it to filter Adds, block scripts and Active X etc, etc.

    It has been too long for me to remember what was in ZAP 5.5.094, but I'm including a screenshot of the relevant section of ZAP 7.0.337.000.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. kwesi

    kwesi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    London
    Thanks very much, TopperID. I think that my question is answered, as you're using ZAP 7. I knew that the passlock had been removed from ZA Free from around about ZA 6 onwards, but it looks as if ZAP 5.5 has just never had that option.

    I've been switching back and forwards between ZAP 5 and ZAP 6 over the last two years because of the probs I've had with RAM usage & missing icons caused by ZAP 6.

    I did have a fair idea that the privacy issue didn't relate to this. This is only a rhetorical question, but I'm going to assume that this issue of KAV 6's web scanner somehow acting as a proxy, might then be negated by enabling privacy on KAV? No need to answer if you haven't the time.

    WILDERS 10, ZONELAB FORUMS 0
    (btw, in case there's someone who reads this and has a temporary sense of humour failure, that's a jokey reference)
     
  4. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    That's OK Kwesi. To be honest, I rarely use the Internet Lock feature so I don't need to create 'Passlock' exceptions; hence I can't remember when this facility was introduced.

    You should be able to confirm whether or not ZAP 5.5.094 is supposed to have the feature by clicking on 'Help' and entering 'Passlock' in the search index - if that brings no entries you'll know that it is not included.
     
  5. unhappy_viewer

    unhappy_viewer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    259
    I have provided the solution to your question about passlock on the ZA forums:
    http://forums.zonealarm.com/zonelabs/board/message?board.id=access&message.id=30094
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.