Wilders - not keeping password?

Discussion in 'General Topics' started by JRCATES, Jun 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    For some reason, my password isn't being retained. I have to enter it each time I visit....even if I keep the same browser open but go to a few different sites and then return. I have "Remember me" checked, and am using Firefox.....so maybe this is just a temporary problem, but I just wanted to post to see if others are having this same problem, and/or to make Wilders aware of it in case there is any problem.
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    You could be blocking wilders cookie. or deleting it on exit
     
  3. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Nope, that's not it, bigc. I have Firefox currently set to allow all cookies, but am still having this problem.
     
  4. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    :eek: I have that same problem, thought it was just me.
     
  5. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I just checked, and I have 4 cookies for wilderssecurity.com, with "until they expire" marked as the option.....not sure what's going on here.
     
  6. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Hopefully it is a temporary thing, especially if it has been working.
     
  7. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I have the same apps running that I've had the past several weeks....and haven't had this problem before (even just a few hours ago). I'm glad you posted, Valkyri001, at least I know it's not just subject to me (LOL)!
     
  8. dog

    dog Guest

    Check your cookie settings in FireFox ;) it's a browser issue.

    You could also delete the Wilders' cookies and then login and reset them.
     
  9. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    you might try clearing your FF cache and try again.
     
  10. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Sometimes the cookie becomes corrupted and the only way to fix it is delete it then start over. I would empty your cache and clear your cookies, then restart FF and try again...
     
  11. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I have checked, double checked, and then rechecked my cookie options with Firefox....and it's keeping and retaining them for Yahoo, CastleCops, etc., but specifically not for Wilders....therfore, I'm thinking it's more of a Wilders than a browser issue.
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just checked and it is working on all four of my browsers.
     
  13. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Just closed out Firefox and opened it again...same problem.

    I have 4 cookies for Firefox in my cookie folder....and you guys suggesting that I delete each one, with the same settings (allow all cookies, until they expire) to see if that works?
     
  14. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I only have 3 browsers, but all are OK here too...
     
  15. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    yes delete your wilders cookies and then sign in again
     
  16. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Yes, delete any and all cookies associated with Wilders....
     
  17. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Not working, guys. I deleted all cookies associated with wilders...cleared my cache and history, closed that browser...opened another browser and logged in. After I was logged in, with "Remember me" checked, I closed that Firefox browser and opened another one. I still had to retype my password again.
     
  18. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    Just left and went to Yahoo and CastleCops, where I was still "logged in", returned here (same browser) and had to retype once again.
     
  19. dog

    dog Guest

    Do you have a firewall setting that maybe effecting it?

    Edit: Nevermind ... you answered that question with your post below
     
  20. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    :eek: I'll try that Folks, I'll be back, I have a ton of them.
     
  21. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    No, now I'm typing using Internet Explorer, which I haven't used all day.....clicked on the Wilders bookmark in favorites, and I was already logged on. It's only affecting Firefox. Very strange....
     
  22. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    4,449
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    For some reason, FF and vBulletin act glitchy together at times. I very rarely use FF on a vBulletin board because of it. Problems seem to come and go at times... And if you use Proxomitron with them, there can be more glitches...
     
  23. Valkyri001

    Valkyri001 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Friendswood Tx. 77546
    ;) Ok! I just dumped it all. I'll be back and let you know.
     
  24. JRCATES

    JRCATES Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Posts:
    1,203
    Location:
    USA
    I hope you're right and that's just the case, puff.....I guess I'll have a better idea and/or know for sure by tomorrow.

    Thanks for the heads up about the FF issue.....if IE is more compatible for forums like this, I'll probably just use it when I plan to browse here for a while and see how it goes.

    Thanks again, everyone, for all of your help with this.....
     
  25. dog

    dog Guest

    Delete the cookies again ... double check with task manager once it's closed that there is no other Firefox process running ... otherwise kill the process with task manager ... then restart FF, login and set the cookies again ... then once again close FF and then restart FF and recheck Wilders.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.