Wild Tangent?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by CMo, Dec 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CMo

    CMo Guest

    Can someone help me fix the following problem:
    When I login to my computer the following message box shows up:
    on the blue bar on top it says: "RUNDLL"
    in the error message popup box it shows the red X and says:
    "Error loading C:\Program Files\WildTangent\Apps\CDA\cdaEngine0400.dll"
    "The specified module could not be found"

    BTW, I just loaded and ran Spybot and Spyware blaster.

    Thanks!
    Camie Mo
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
    Hi CMo. :)

    Welcome to Wilders.

    I'll move this thread to the Other Security Issues forum for better attention. ;)



    snowbound
     
  3. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  4. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    3,647
    If you have AOL Instant Messenger please uninstall it immediately. It is responsible for installing the WildTangent spyware on the computer. Even if you get rid of wildtangent successfully but you don't uninstall AOL instant messenger, wildtangent will still be able to get back in. The only way to get rid of wildtangent completely is to get rid of AOL instant messenger.
     
  5. Peaches4U

    Peaches4U Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    5,070
    Location:
    At my computer
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    if end up having to use RegSvr32 you could try useing the Graphical Interface to RegSvr32. although, if you havent used RegSvr32 before it would be best to post back first because making mistakes with RegSvr32 could get you in alot of trouble :)
    http://www.freevbcode.com/ShowCode.Asp?ID=1422
     
  7. killerbees

    killerbees Guest

    i have also received the same error message on my friends computer for WILDTANGENT.....i removed all theitems from registry under RUN leaving default..after that its working fine..without any error message.

    follow the steps.....
    "Hkey_local_machine\software\microsoft\windows\currentversion\RUN"...click on RUN ......on the right hand side window delete all the entries leaving the default.
     
  8. worf

    worf Guest

    I run Aluria's spyware eliminator (top pick by pc world) and I also run Sunbelts Counter Spy. 30 & 20 dollars respecfully. I belive between the two of them they eliminate almost all spyware.

    gary
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.