wierd connection entrees

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by GUI_Tex, Feb 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GUI_Tex

    GUI_Tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    189
    I was browsing tcpview and noticed some strange connections, all I have connected is firefox.. what could it be?

    http://img380.imageshack.us/img380/1951/untitled3os.png

    I didnt have time to capture all entrees.

    a-xx-xxx-xx-xx.deploy.akamaitechnologies.net

    I tried looking at it in firefox but it didnt connect..
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Akamai Technologies servers host content for many sites on the Internet. So these connections are nothing to worry about.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. GUI_Tex

    GUI_Tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    189
    many sites on the internet aren't trusthworthy and I dont have anything explicitly open except firefox. but a system process seems to be connecting to that particular spot..? :oops:
     
  4. aka:snowman

    aka:snowman Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    152
    aXX-XXX-XX-XX.deploy.akamaitechnologies.net (XX.XXX.XX.XX)


    (69.224.0.0 - 69.239.255.255)



    SBC Internet Services
    2701 W 15th St PMB 236
    Plano, TX
    US


    (mods: remove posted Range if you see fit to do so )________________________________________________________________



    By chance do you have a Program that is set to Auto Update ?
     
  5. aka:snowman

    aka:snowman Former Poster

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    152
    By the way....I am in agreement with CM on this.......Akamai Technologies servers are so large they are overwhelming......but have never heard of their servers being hacked or used by a hacker........
     
  6. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    It was most likely a site that you were browsing with Firefox that was getting some of it's content from an Akamai server.

    Those particular entries will show as being associated to System because they are in the process of closing and no longer associated to an active connection or your browser. If you watch your connections as they go through this process you will see them initially associated to your browser (application) and then as they start to go through the closing phase, shift to being associated with System.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  7. GUI_Tex

    GUI_Tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    189
    SBC Internet Services is my ISP.. and I did have autoupdate but i disabled it for norton, It could of been


    I noticed that too..

    okay.. thanks, for the explaination aka:snowman and CrazyM
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.