why would i be connected to 195.xx.xx.xx

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by iceni60, Feb 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    hi, my connection seemed abit slow so i had alook to see what connections i had. one of them was 195.xx.xx.xx (i'm on a standalone PC) when i went to that address it was an apache server setup page. i think i saw sambra as a running process too but i'm not sure i wasn't thinking straight by then. i captured abit of the traffic but i can't find it now lol. also i saw ssh-agent as a running process too i'm sure about that.

    so can someone tell me this is normal computer stuff and i have nothing to worry about? this was in Ubuntu, i'm in XP now. i have no backups so i can't so a reinstall.

    i have to reboot because i launched icesword but i forgot it doesn't run correctly on my system and it's taking up all my resources and i can't kill it off.

    how can i be connected to that 195 address? thanks
     
  2. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Can you find any of the details from the captured traffic or any log info?

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  3. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i'll have a look. i don't know where it is o_O i was sure i saved it but maybe not. when i look for recent events it's not there.

    i don't think i have been owned now i can't see how it could have happened, i think it's more likely something i did. but i really want to be sure though.

    what are the options? what things can be at 195.xx.xx.xx if i'm not connected to anything? i have a printer but it was turned off and there's nothing else.
     
  4. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Hi,
    Maybe an update for the distro?
    Did you try to reverse dns that address?
    Mrk
     
  5. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Without an IP and logs to narrow it down there is just not enough information at this time. Before you go online with that OS next be prepared to monitor and log network connections.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  6. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    thanks for the help. i got abit confused with the address, i thought it was 192.xx.xx.xx so thought it was local. i don't think it was local now and was just a site using an apache server. i think it was a download i thought i had cancelled but was still running in the background.
     
  7. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,116
    i think it was a download from the site below. i saw the generic apache page because the site was having problems.
    http://www.betterdesktop.org/
     
  8. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Good to hear. Hopefully this mystery is solved and nothing to worry about.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.