Why True Image doesn't recognize my USB disk?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ned22, Jun 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ned22

    ned22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,
    I'm using the test version of Acronis True Image 11 Home since a few hours. I created a rescue CD using the Rescue Media Builder and booted from this CD.

    The disk boots fine BUT unfortunately it does not regognize my external Fujitsu drive, which is connected to the computer by USB2.

    Do I need True Image Echo Workstation with Universal Restore for that feature or is something wrong?

    ned22
     
  2. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Did you have the usb drive connected before you booted up with the ATI bootCD?

    If not, then try it that way.

    If so, then you proably need a diff bootCD. The way to get one is to contact TechSupport, give them some info, then they'll send you a new iso file that you can burn as a cd image. IF that doesn't work, you try again and they gie you a diff iso.

    Or you can build a bartPE or vistaPE disk, which I think is easier.
     
  3. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    The boot CD uses Linux and it doesn't have the drivers for your external usb enclosure. You can either get another external enclosure or, better, create a BartPE cd with the Acronis Plug-In installed in it. There's a whole thread devoted to creating this BartPE cd.
     
  4. ned22

    ned22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Of course I did.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you tried the quiet acpi=off noapic option detailed in Section II of the PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU POST thread?

    You might also check if you have any other USB devices attached that may interfere. Sometimes flashcard readers, iPODs, etc. can cause problems.
     
  6. ned22

    ned22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Hello,

    first, thanx for fast answers. I tried the "quiet acpi=off noapic" option, but without a positive result. I will try to get the sysinfo as soon as possible and send it to you.

    Until then a simple guess: the USB drive I use is a bit special - it has 2 partitions:
    1st, a MAC-OS-filesystem partition; 2nd, a NTFS partition.
    Maybe this is a problem.
     
  7. CorkyG

    CorkyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Posts:
    126
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    I didn't know that you could create a valid, functional Rescue CDR with the test version. I have always found it necessary to have a registered version to do that. Yeso_O Noo_O

    If that can be done, there would never be a reason to buy the product.
     
  8. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    Last I heard is that the Rescue CD made with the Trial version will only do Restores, not Backups.
     
  9. ned22

    ned22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I only can create a "invalid" Rescue CDR with the Test version: finally the button to begin the Backup process is disabled. Nonetheless the Test version is functional enough to see the problem with the USB drive.
     
  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello ned22,

    Thank you for your interest in Acronis Backup software.

    In order to check if the Bootable CD fails to detect any of the USB devices or exactly the drive which is partitioned in such an unusual way, I'd recommend you to attach any other USB disk or flash drive and boot under Acronis Bootable CD. If any other USB devices are not detected too please submit a request for technical support with the attached Linux System Information file and the link to this thread. We will do our best to help you as soon as possible. Linux Sysinfo file can be collected in the way it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Thank you
    --
    Nikita Sakharov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.