Why Should I Use a VPN

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by merisi, Jan 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. merisi

merisi Registered Member

Okay I'm still quite new to knowing my way around privacy and security so my question is, why should I use a VPN? My only experience has been with TOR and it's not ideal for financial transactions as you don't know who's sniffing around exit nodes. It's also very, very slow and then pages start to appear in foreign languages. Isn't using a VPN just paying money on top of paying for your internet to make it slower, more insecure and much more difficult?

I know people really like their VPNs here so obviously they've had different experiences of them to me and I'd be really happy to learn what they are.

2. Taliscicero

Taliscicero Registered Member

VPN is not TOR.

3. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

Spend a couple days searching Wilders, and you'll find discussions about all that, and more.

4. Victek

Victek Registered Member

A VPN accomplishes something very specific, ie it encrypts the connection between your computer and the VPN server. I use one to connect to the internet over open wifi at Starbucks, etc, so my activity can't be "sniffed". I'm not trying to make my computer untraceable. There's a difference between privacy and anonymity. A reasonable degree of privacy is easy to attain while anonymity is very difficult and perhaps impossible to attain. With regard to performance a VPN needn't slow things down. My experience with paid services has been good in that regard. What exactly do you want to achieve?

5. merisi

merisi Registered Member

I've seen a few threads about VPNs and they just leave me feeling much more confused but it appears that I'm unsure what they actually are so I should maybe research that first.

6. merisi

merisi Registered Member