Why Pick Other Firewalls Over Comodo Personal Firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Coolio10, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    I started this as i want to know why you would use any other firewalls over comodo pf?

    First of all it blocks ever test on firewallleaktester and shieldsup. Second no slowdown in system performance (21.000kb max for me with its 2 processes) (launchpad off)
    Third extremely well designed interface and non intrusive alerts as most firewall alerts appear in center of screen which is annoying for some.
    Fourth extremely featureful and easy.

    Im sure there were problems with 2.2 but this new version fixes every problem im sure.

    The launchpad gone and less mem,cpu usage. those are just the main fixes.

    My main reasons are it blocks more or the same as the best free or paid firewall out there, Uses less resources then most and look at the price tag..Oops there isnt one...Oh wait a minute there is $00
     
  2. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    I have not used the program so I cannot give an opinion at this point. The program will not work on older PC system such as those with Windows 98, so it is a no go with those computers.
     
  3. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I agree with you, this is a great firewall with an excellent support, and it's free!!!

    I already used a lot of firewalls and only this fits my needs!
    CHX is the best for incoming traffic but lacks application control and other features, like self protection...

    The next version of Outpost Pro is the only firewall that I think that can compete with Comodo PF, or not... :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2006
  4. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Well you have a point but what about others with supported systems.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i too havent tried comodo, but rule making makes me uneasy and hesitant to try it.
     
  6. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Hi Coolio10

    I realize your are probably in love with the comodo firewall for some reason, based on all your posts, but I tried it and didn't like it. That's why I am not using it.

    Pete
     
  7. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Read this: ** FAQs/Threads - Read Me First **

    If you still have some doubt, you can post on Comodo Forum...
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i just tried comodo and i think ill stay with looknstop for the moment. its lighter, simpler, and i already have my rules setup.
     
  9. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    They put in a low and very high setting alerts so its even simpler now!

    Its like ZA Free when its on low but blocks more so its extremely simple for beginners too.
     
  10. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Could you please tell me why you dont like?
    Just so i can prove you wrong :D just joking!
     
  11. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    Could you please tell me when you tried so i know if u used new 2.3 or old 2.2 as 2.3 is a lot lighter, simpler and secure as ever (wont even let me shut it down completely :D)
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,041
    Frankly, I don't remember at this point. I just installed it, didn't really like it, so I took it off.
     
  13. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Love this firewall (Comodo)
    Shows what can be acheived and they are extremely helpfull into the bargain.
     
  14. MICRO

    MICRO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,020
    Cool.,
    Apparently Comodo will do better now that it's dumped the bundle - what was it called again - Launchpad - nobody likes bundles, free or not.

    Regards.
     
  15. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    i tried the comodo v2.3 just today and it was light, but LnS is lighter. and by simple I mean looknstop just prompts once for each application (i think comodo can do that too but i didnt bother with that setting).

    also it is slow to initialize. some error about FUS being disabled (which it is). and although u can (easily) disable teh launchpad, i dont liek it.

    i think comodo is ok, but its too much for me.
     
  16. luckykar

    luckykar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    First of all hi everybody this is my first post here at Wilders , i just uninstalled ZA and installed Comodo Firewall it seems very nice , its an easy setup and works real well on my system.

    Cheers

    edit: Thanks to the guys at Comodo for this Firewall.
     
  17. Coolio10

    Coolio10 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,124
    It doesnt actually require initializing time but your one of the rare 2 who has a process which doesnt make it happy.

    You mean this error....

    http://forums.comodo.com/index.php/topic,1592.msg15243/topicseen.html#msg15243

    http://forums.comodo.com/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=1592.0;attach=613;image

    It does have the 1 prompt per app option and according to site it uses atleast 32MB "32 Mb or higher" And Comodo uses 15-22 max depending on system. Please show an image of your task manager with outline of looknstop processes so i can see if its "lighter" because comodo also has no cpu load just mem usage.

    If ive won you over then just put a angry smile :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2006
  18. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    I like Sygate alot better.
    It has a more clean interface, less resource usage (no idea why a firewall (comodo) should use 40mb of memory...) and it makes my pc run alot smoother.
     
  19. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    The new version doesn't use 40MB of memory. The two processes (cpf and cmdagent) combined use 23MB on my system.
     
  20. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    from the first thread...do i need terminal services for comodo to function properly?

    i cannot access the second link, i dont have a forum account.
    this is from Process Explorer:
     

    Attached Files:

  21. BlitzenZeus

    BlitzenZeus Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Here is one thing I couldn't find off the pages, does it support internet connection sharing without being a royal pain like in every other software firewall I tried in the past, however my current software firewall makes it very easy, along with almost all of the firee firewalls do not support internet connection sharing, and for certain reasons this is required on my system.

    Also what is the current status of support in Vista?

    This thread seems like astroturfing to me, however I will bite...
     
  22. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Yes, it supports ICS, but I never use it so I can't tell you how it works...

    http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/5446/icsmk1.png

    I think that isn't support right now, but they will add...
     
  23. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I concur. Sygate is great here. Only using 9MB RAM. The only other pf I'd consider would be GhostWall. Possibly older Kerio.
     
  24. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Sygate is badly outdated. Very good for (also outdated) Windows 9x but certanly not recommended for Windows XP...
     
  25. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I disagree. And RejZoR if you have any reliable sourced information to back up your point. I'd like that link.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.