Why no choice with Google Compose?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Daveski17, Mar 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Daveski17

Daveski17 Registered Member

Dear Google,

I have been using your reliable mail service for over five years now and always preferred it to other free services that I have tried in the past (except for the even better Zoho Mail). I understand that your staff, who almost certainly average around thirteen years of age, and desperately need to fill their work time with pointless and increasingly ridiculous 'improvements' to Google services in the name of progress, have recently endeavoured to 'improve' the compose function in GMail. As marvellous as change for change's sake is, and not wanting to sound like a Luddite in any way or form, it has come to my attention that the old normal style of composing an email is to be permanently replaced with the 'new' and fashionable style. Without wanting to sound old fashioned or feeling the need to remove my clogs and throw them anywhere, I have to question the fact that I now have no choice but to use this rather pointless 'improvement'. I know I am well over the age of thirteen and am even one of those foreign type chaps (we drive on the other side of the road) and are very probably what many Australians would term a 'whinging Pom'. However, I just cannot envisage what possible advantage there is to composing an email on an absurdly silly little pop-up window. Maybe if I actually was thirteen years old and only wanted to send messages in shorthand text-speak regularly mutilating the Queen's English it would be an improvement of sorts. Unfortunately I am not a teenager and often need to compose far more detailed emails. I know I can expand the size of the window, but does this additional function necessarily ameliorate or improve the overall emailing experience for people like myself who regularly need to send grown-up emails? I hate to sound ungrateful bu