Why is ATI11Home so slow?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by kmh72756, Jun 19, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kmh72756

    kmh72756 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Why is ATI11Home so slow?

    XP Pro with SP3
    2 150gb drives in RAID1
    1 Maxtor 3000LE 120gb USB drive

    First of all, I am trying to do everything using only the ATI11 bootable CD.
    Second, I was forced to use the Safe version since I couldn't even see my RAID drive at all using the Full version (I have an open tech support issue for that question).

    I got the backup started and had to choose the full compression since my RAID is using about 90gb and I only had about 45gb available space on my USB drive.
    Setting the program to full compression made an estimate of 40gb.

    When the program finally put up it's first estimate of completion time it said 2 days. It did eventually start to decrease.

    The actual completion time was 18 HOURS!!!!!

    Why is ATI11Home so ridiculously slow?:blink:
     
  2. Bruce Mahnke

    Bruce Mahnke Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Posts:
    629
    Location:
    Woodbury, MN USA
    This doesn’t sound quite right. For me 22 GB (no RAID) backs up in 15 minutes to an internal IDE drive (normal compression) in Windows not by using the Rescue Media CD. When backed up to a Seagate 320 GB FreeAgent USB 2.0 drive (NTFS) it takes 19 minutes.

    I believe the Maxtor 3000LE drive is a 5400 RPM drive so that might account for some slowness. Are you certain that the drive is actually performing at USB 2.0 speeds? Using full compression might also be a factor. You might try doing it in Windows to make a time comparison.
     
  3. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Most computers that support USB devices through the BIOS will drop to USB 1 (or slightly faster) speeds when running TI in Safe Mode.
     
  4. kmh72756

    kmh72756 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    I don't have any other drive or media that I can back up 40 or 60 gb to.

    And I don't want to start splitting my c drive partition into two right now.

    I guess I will have to wait for the result of my tech support issue with safe mode vs full mode not seeing my RAID.

    I knew USB 1 was slow, but by your timings it's got to be like 20 to 1.
    That does explain the 18 hours though.

    I really need them to solve how I can see my RAID in full mode.
    But I do feel a little better now.
     
  5. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    USB 1 has a maximum speed of 12Mbits/sec. USB 2 has a maximum speed of 480Mbits/sec. It's about 40 times faster.

    You'll probably need to submit a support request to Acronis to see if they can provide you with a custom build that works with your computer. Another option is to build a BartPE or VistaPE CD that includes any necessary drivers.
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello kmh72756,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    We are sorry for delayed response.

    Could you please let us know your Acronis request number (e.g. [Acronis #123456]) which was sent to you in autoreply to your letter? We will find out how the investigation of your issue is going. If you have not received an autoreply then please send us a Private Message containing your e-mail address.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.