Why i need Java on my PC?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by aigle, Jan 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Recently I have uninstalled Java Runtime Environment from my PC, thinking of installing newer version. At the moment I am using my PC without Java since a week or so and have not found any issues?

    I use my PC for surfing, Office documents, messenger chat etc and did not find any problems so far.

    So my Q is what,s the function of Java on my PC? When do i need it?

    Second: Can Java be exploited even when it is not in use on ur PC, just installed?

    Thanks
     
  2. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    I say no to Java too. I use even OpenOffice without it and every basic functions working fine. I don't like any of those "heavy" addons (Java, .NET Framework etc.). If some programs needs any of those I don't use it.

    -MikeNAS
     
  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Java is used for some web applets and for certain programs (for example Azureus or Limewire).

    If you dont visit sites that have java applets and if you dont use any java-dependent programs, then you dont need java installed.
     
  4. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Azureus, other Java-programmed apps, web applets (mostly games, Secunia inspector, some speed tests)
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ya, I think OpenOffice needs Java!
     
  6. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I think its only needed for OpenOffice Base and certain wizards. Otherwise OOo works fine without java.
     
  7. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    You can run OpenOffice without Java :)
     
  8. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    Secunia's probably the only critical thing that jumps to mind that you will need Java for.

    At one time Trend's HouseCall introduced a new version that needed Java too. I haven't used HouseCall in ages, so don't know if that's still the case.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    I saw it bundled with java!
     
  10. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,700
    Hello,
    I don't use Java ... don't really need it.
    One of these days I'll attack Eclipse, then it will get interesting.
    Mrk
     
  11. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,331
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Freemind is the only reason I have java installed.
     
  12. Jomsviking

    Jomsviking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    I too wondered about this often. At first I thought that, if the installation of a new java version goes well, the only java plugins interacting with web and other apps will be the updated ones, so no problem should arise from that. Java's own FAQ provide this information. In theory.

    In practice though, certain malware types (example: some vundo exploits) can take advantage of older java versions installed on the PC. So: It's best to only have 1 java version on the computer: the updated one; uninstall all others prior to updating, and chose the manual download option at the java site.
     
  13. deanmartin

    deanmartin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    231
    Location:
    USA/KY
    The only 2 things I use it for is Secunia, and my Local National Weather Service Live radar.
     
  14. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,125
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    This is why I have that noscript firefox extension installed. ^_^
     
  15. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    Some websites use Java applets. I use one website that requires Java to be installed or you can't access the site.

    Yes, the program can be exploited even when not in use. I know that firsthand (from the Vundo/Virtumonde spyware). :mad:
     
  16. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    That,s mainly for browser related Java scripts, not Java!
     
  17. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    True though it can also be used to block java.
     
  18. Long View

    Long View Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    Cromwell Country
    so is there a minimal java ? same for net framework ? is it really needed and if so for what ? I think I'll just uninstall and see what happens.
     
  19. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Like java, .NET Framework is required for some programs (ex. Paint.NET or CDBurnerXP).
     
  20. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I got along fine for many years without Java, but then started installing it a year or two ago and still do. But it's not hard to do without it most of the time, for me anyway...
     
  21. jfd15

    jfd15 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    yea, i think Java is vulnerable even when not in use because they always say to make sure that you have uninstalled the older versions, since Java doesnt automatically do this...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.