why does Sygate block ntkernel traffic?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by divedog, Jan 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Can anyone tell me why Sygate blocks some of the NT Kernel traffic? It allows most but blocks some. Could this cause a problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,698
    Re: why does Sygate block ntlernel traffic?

    Hi,
    Is that on a home network?
    Then, it could be that the firewall is blocking fragmented packets. Did you use any TCP/IP optimizer? These usually set the MTU at 1500. At my home network, the max. MTU without fragments is 1460, for instance.
    Mrk
     
  3. emir

    emir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Posts:
    61
    Re: why does Sygate block ntlernel traffic?

    I always denied nt kernel access to the network and ran fine, as it does alot but it still does not need to connect to the internet. Check it out though, Sygate is better than some but it has been acquired by Symantec and this makes it a natural target for hackers. I saw bytes comin and goin when I was using Sygate after a long time, and it used to be the best but you should look into something else man like Look and Stop or if you are advanced user check out Net Firewall off majorgeeks.
     
  4. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,188
    Re: why does Sygate block ntlernel traffic?

    Sygate has some built in security features: NetBios protection and also but i am not really 100% sure, network neighborhood settings.
     
  5. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Re: why does Sygate block ntlernel traffic?


    What is a TCP/IP optomizer and mtu?
     
  6. DreamCatcher

    DreamCatcher Guest

    Re: why does Sygate block ntlernel traffic?

    MTU is "Maximum Transmissible Unit" - the maximum size a packet can be in a network.

    Tcp/IP Optomizer > well that would be stuff like Harden-IT and other utilities on the link below;

    http://www.freeware-guide.com/dir/util/network.html
     
  7. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Re: why does Sygate block ntlernel traffic?

    thanx
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.