Why does AX64 and Image for Windows work for me?!!!!!

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by MPSAN, Nov 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Is it possible that there is a file on my system (XP 32 bit) that would cause creating a full image backup to FREEZE with True Image 8, 9, 11, and 2014...and Macrium FREE? I have 1 GB of memory, so is that still enough? The ONLY way out of this freeze is to do a reset as a mouse and Keyboard will not do anything. What is strange, to me, is that the same thing will happen if I use the Linux based Recovery CD in True Image.

    This happens on TI8, 9, and 11. I even tried TI 2014 with the same results. So could it be that 1 GB is not enough memory even in Linux, or could there be a file on the drive that causes TI to FREEZE? OH, the destination drive has plenty of room. Also, at one time TI used to work. That is why I kept buying it!

    As I said, both AX64 and Image for Windows work fine, so what are these programs doing that makes it OK?
     
  2. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,042
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    It sounds like you have a very bad BLOCK (or many) on that disk. Some imagers will move past unresponsive disk blocks, others will hang, depending on how they do their I/O.

    I would run SpinRite or HDDregenerator on it to know for sure... or maybe any good FREEbie that reads all disk blocks.
     
  3. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well, froggie, I can look at this. These cost more than a new drive. I do have a drive I can install, but will AX64 or IFW just put the bad blocks back?
     
  4. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i tend to agree here. i use them together just fine no issues. for sure check that disk though
     
  5. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Hi MPSAN,

    The first thing Macrium Reflect PAID version does, it checks your disk and if they are any errors on the disk, then it does one of the following:

    1. The error message, so you can correct it, like running chkdsk on the disk.
    2. It refuses to image the system.
    3. It freezes during imaging the system.

    I am not sure about the FREE version, but I assume it does the same.

    Best regards,

    Mohamed
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    MPSAN,

    When you run chkdsk /f on the C: drive, does it report bad sectors?
     
  7. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    I will look at the last report, but doesn't it only look at USED sectors?
     
  8. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,024
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Brian,

    For chkdsk to 'deal with' bad sectors don't you have to use the /r switch?

    Cruise
     
  9. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Well, it looks like the last time I ran chkdsk a few days ago it is not on my event viewer any more.
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    /f scans all sectors in the partition.

    /r is very time consuming. I only use it if /f finds bad sectors. It may or may not help.
     
  11. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,634
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    In WinXP it's under Winlogon in Event Viewer/Application.
     
  12. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    665
    Yes, it was there but no longer. I wonder if there is a setting to keep events for x number of days?
     
  13. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    imo if the drive has any question i would run the /r and /f switches just to be on the safe side. just start it and let it run overnight.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.