Why do people recommend MBAM over SAS?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by berryracer, Feb 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    i like MBAM over SAS because of its excellent detection and removal capabilities:thumb: :thumb:
     
  2. TigerRaptorFX

    TigerRaptorFX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Posts:
    58
    I think the biggest criticism Malwarebytes gets it doesn't detect tracking cookies. So people think it has a poor detection rate. Which in fact Malwarebytes is not built for that function. Even if the program doesn't detect any thing, it means your computer is clean. Keep it around with another on-demand scanner and your A/V solution. You never know what might show up out of the clear blue.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  3. gugarci

    gugarci Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    288
    Location:
    Jersey
    Before I run any scans with any of these programs I always run CCleaner first. If the cookies bother you let CCleaner take care of them. Having said that I still prefer MBAM and Hitman Pro over SAS but I have all three of them installed on my PC's. And to be honest I rarely use them. 99% of the time when I do scans they're for the hell of it since my PC's are not acting weird in any way.

    AV scans I do run a lot more frequently, specially in my main desktop which is used by the whole family.
     
  4. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I do not like ondemand apps, which have to be installed and have processes running in background nonstop, so I will never find a use for MBAM, I allways go for portable apps.
     
  5. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,581
    Although I have a lifetime license for MBAM it (the license) is not activated at this time which I use for an occasional scan, Without the License being activated there is no processes running in background nonstop here at all.
     
  6. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,112
    Location:
    Slovakia
    There is a driver, which is supposed to increase cleaning capabilities. Try to remove an empty startup folder in start, you will not be able to run MBAM anymore after restart.
     
  7. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Exactly the same here. ;)
     
  8. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    What about processes running in the background don't you like? I don't think it's the size which is 2,312K for MBAM on-demand with scheduled scans set up on my computer.
     
  9. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,581
    I never said I didn't like them.(or that I did like them) I was simply replying to a post.
     
  10. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,545
    They are both great on demand scanners, IMO, and like splitting hairs. MBAM gets the nod from me merely on account of there being a context menu to easily right-click/scan items... without having to open the program. That bugs me with SAS.
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I love MBAM real time. It updates its definitions periodically and pops up a little window telling me about it. If it stops an attempted infiltration of malware, I get a pop up telling me the infection was stopped. It updates itself to new versions as well.:)
     
  12. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Sorry LoneWolf, I quoted the wrong post when asking the question. I'll give it another shot.

    What about processes running in the background don't you like? I don't think it's the size which is 2,312K for MBAM on-demand with scheduled scans set up on my computer.
     
  13. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,448
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I use both free versions, I like MBAM better. I have found it will catch an occassional one the other misses
     
  14. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Both are top notch products and good on their respective sides, more imp that people recommend MBAM is because of better business model;)
     
  15. Frank the Perv

    Frank the Perv Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    882
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    When people say things like “Both are top notch products and good on their respective sides..” – it implies that both products have some sort of evidentiary basis for being “top notch.”

    But exactly where does any independent organization rate SAS as “top notch?”

    If you look back in time in these forums, I used to be a SAS defender. I’m a lifetime license holder – and I’d like SAS to be a good product.

    But then more and more tests (i.e. evidence) started coming out.

    If anybody can find a independent test in the last three years in which SAS did well, please post it.

    Following tests being published one after another in which SAS did poorly -- SAS people and apologists make statements like…”SAS is more effective in the real world.”

    A weak rationale at best. The tests all model themselves in one way or another on the ‘real world.’

    Or, you get personal testimonials. “SAS found stuff nothing else did..”

    Surely this forum is beyond weighing personal testimonial equally with professional product testing.

    Or you get non-performance rationales. “It deletes cookies well.” “It has some nice tools built in.”

    Problem is, these are non-topical arguments. We could talk about products that eliminate cookies or have other tools..

    The key is substantiation.

    MBAM has done well in testing for years. Indeed, even when MBAM incorrectly gets tested against complete AV suites, it sometimes performs admirably.

    SAS lags.

    Again, if you have substantiation that SAS has done well in independent testing anywhere – please post it.
     
  16. Daveski17

    Daveski17 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    9,108
    Location:
    Lloegyr
    You have to run SAS on Start-Up & you can have a visible systems tray icon for that. You'll find it in 'Preferences'. I mainly use SAS for a right-click dropdown menu scan second opinion.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2012
  17. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I put personal testimonials over product testing every time. Tests are flawed and often use awful sample sizes. I've cleaned probably hundreds of computers so I trust what I've seen wayyyyy more than a page that tells me the results of some behind the scenes test that I was in no way a part of.

    They're both fine for on demand.

    FYI removal =/= protection. The tests for protection show SAS does poorly (and, again, tests are really BS and really should be taken with a healthy chunk of salt) but where are the removal tests?
     
  18. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,787
    I wouldn't call them "really" BS but that's not the topic. My focus here is your healthy "chunk" of salt scares me...as a friend, I'd like to remind you not to take too much of it unless you want to suffer from diabetes. :p
     
  19. icr

    icr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    1,589
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well no I never believed in any of independent/dependent test, and as you said you used to be avid user of SAS. One question in my mind,

    Did you drop SAS just because you saw recent tests in which SAS not performing well or you had problems with it?

    And do give its latest version a try, many new features added but still maintained a line between a good app vs bloatware.
     
  20. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,715
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I had SAS trash my system last year so I'm not a fan. I much prefer MBAM as it is doing much better in testing anyway. Also as was stated earlier in the thread the developer of SAS rubs me the wrong way. But we can't all like the same people can we?
     
  21. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,490
    Tests and members have shown that MBAM is a superior product to SAS. (Not saying SAS is not good but i'm pretty sure we all agree MBAM is the better one ;))
     
  22. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Ok guys thanks a lot to everyone who responded here. From the majority of the comments here, I see that MBAM wins the battle.

    Thus, I will ditch my SAS Pro license and install the free version only. and I will buy MBAM Pro FTW

    PS: If I buy an MBAM license......

    1) Is it a lifetime subscription like with SAS or is it a yearly renewal?

    2) How many PCs can I install it on?
     
  23. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    180
    Lifetime.....and 1 pc per license....

    BTW.....suggest you to keep SAS....sometimes the cookies get so thick on computers that the cookies will bog your computer down....
     
  24. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Yes Ill keep SAS for on demand scans for those cookies and keep MBAM for real time protection
     
  25. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,548
    Location:
    Mumbai
    For cookie scan u can always use HMP..no need for sas...hmp will also alert u for any infection if found
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.