Why aren't people using Windows 7 Imaging?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by TheMozart, Jan 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I noticed Windows 7 comes with its own backing up image program. Why aren't people just using this? Why go use something else? :blink:
     
  2. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    In my memory, it does not have compression
     
  3. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    New images overwrite the last one. I make an image with it as a fail safe when I use my Active@disk image or my Disk Cloner.
     
  4. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    In addition to the above, it's also pretty slow compared to other alternatives. Also, when you restore an image, you lose your Windows Update history for some reason, although installed updates section does show what's installed. I've used it from time to time and it gets the job done.
     
  5. SplinterCell

    SplinterCell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Posts:
    48
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    No compression and no encryption were the deal breakers for me. It was just to plain Jane and I expect more.
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    Matter of choice as people do use it. It works well and is as reliable as it can be.
     
  7. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Thanks everyone for your comments :thumb: It helps me get a better understanding about the W7 backing imaging.
     
  8. napoleon1815

    napoleon1815 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Posts:
    702
    Nothing too new to add here...agree with these comments. It's like most native MS tools...enough to do a basic job, but leaving the door open for third-parties to make it better.
     
  9. 1chaoticadult

    1chaoticadult Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    Chaotic Land
    This

    and This.

    Although I no longer use Windows 7 imaging as a fail safe though. I feel better using Active Disk Image to make three different images for my laptop, Also helps that Active Disk Image performance has been increased recently with 5.2.5 ;)
     
  10. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I used Windows 7 imaging and it backed up my C: and SYSTEM partition and D: rescue partition as well. I wonder what made it choose all those?:blink:
     
  11. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Why don't you just select a NEW LOCATION to save image everytime, hence, you will create multiple and different backup images, in different folders. What's stopping you doing that? :blink:
     
  12. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Well said. And for the record I'm using it as well; I cannot see myself right now using anything else.

    Thanks.
     
  13. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    So when you want to restore an image using W7 imaging backup program, you just boot the DVD and restore and it restores?:doubt:
     
  14. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    I have Active@image and Drive Cloner Rx that don't overwrite.:)
     
  15. SourMilk

    SourMilk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Maybe it's just me, but I find choosing between let Microsoft choose what to backup (recommended) or allow me to choose what I want to back up as presented in the Windows 7 backup confusing. I just want to backup my hard drive without the pagefile which most backup programs exclude anyway.

    I am very satisfied with Image for Windows but would not have purchased it if I could only backup my hard drive without guessing which profile to use as stated above.

    SourMilk out
     
  16. CogitoTesting

    CogitoTesting Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    Sea of Tranquility, Luna
    Yes indeed. Simple, straightforward and effective.

    Thanks.
     
  17. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    Why not? I had a laptop it would not work on due to a locked file. It just refused to finish, therefore not usable on that machine. More importantly, and the reason I do not use it at all, no incremental/differential support. If you run Windows backup and it fails, you not only lost your previous backup but do not have the one that failed, leaving you with nothing. Best case you only have 1 image at a time. With something more advanced I have multiple points to restore to.
     
  18. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I ran the W7 rescue DVD and it says it will try to repair W7, but it says that windows 7 is located on G: :blink:

    I don't have a G: drive, why does it say W7 is on G:?

    If I begin a restore, will it try to fix some "G:" drive which doesn't exist and mess up my whole W7 and make it unbootable?

    What I suspect is that it may get confused and think the SYSTEM partition is my W7 partition and calling it G:?

    I used to have Dynamic drives and I suspected W7 was using SYSTEM partition, but I converted to Basic drives, but is SYSTEM still being used and is that why the Rescue DVD thinks SYSTEM is C: and calling it G:?

    Is this article related?

    http://www.sevenforums.com/installation-setup/1290-200-meg-hidden-system-partition.html

    IN ADDITION, when I run backup & restore to check the image, W7 cannot find it's own backup image!

    Why is W7 so buggy :(

    I am confused :(

    What can I do?
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.