why am i getting different dns server ip's in test results?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by imdb, Jan 29, 2015.

  1. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    hi guys
    i have comodo secure dns set up on my router. "ipconfig /all" command confirms this.
    grc's dns nameserver spoofability test page shows up level3 and a german dns provider, dnsleaktest-dot-com shows up level3, router's status page shows up ones from isp. in the case of a url typo, comodo's warning page shows up. so what gives? what to do?
    tia
     
  2. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    Check your router for a setting that allows the ISP's DNS servers to be used.
     
  3. krustytheclown2

    krustytheclown2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Posts:
    210
    If Comodo's warning shows up, you're using Comodo

    Look at the output of whoer.net to confirm your DNS has changed

    dnsleaktest.com is a check for proxies and VPN's not what you're doing
     
  4. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    IPCONFIG isn't reliable to show DNS depending on router/utm, and settings. If your network interface is configured to retrieve IP addresses dynamically, and you do not use a fully qualified domain name (FQDN) as part of an IP address, the ipconfig /all command may not return connection-specific DNS suffixes from the DHCP server. Mine always shows my gateway for example. Also, you should be aware of Comodo DNS using NXDOMAIN, and spamming your connection, and also redirecting to a data mining firm.. I wouldn't use them!

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/comodo-dns-not-a-good-idea-due-to-nxdomain-spam.372515/
     
  5. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    there's no such setting.
     
  6. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    yes comodo warning shows up but whoer-net result is same as grc & dnsleaktest-com.
     
  7. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    thanks for the heads-up.
     
  8. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
  9. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    Are you using just the ISP's modem/router, or have you added your own router/firewall?
     
  10. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
  11. mirimir

    mirimir Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,030
    Unless you've resolved the issue, my best guess is that your router is passing through DNS servers pushed by your ISP. If that's the case, and there's no way to change it, you need a new router, or at least better firmware.
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    758
    @mirimir:
    it seems comodo dns was the cause. ditched comodo.

    thanks everyone.
     
Loading...