WHS (Windows Server 2003 ) and NOD32

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ThomasAdams, Dec 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThomasAdams

    ThomasAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Hello,

    I am curious what versions of NOD32 work best with WHS. I currently have an HP Mediasmart EX490 and am wondering if anyone has any hands on experience with NOD32 in this environment.

    Would a purchase of Version 5, allow me to run version 4 or even 3, like I was able to do with previous versions?

    Thank you,
    Tom
     
  2. Vocalpoint

    Vocalpoint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    You will need to pony up bigger cash and purchase the server version. The workstation versions will not install on WHSv1 or v2.

    VP
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nod32 home edition does work on windows home server. source the license should allow you to install all nod32 home versions.
     
  4. Vocalpoint

    Vocalpoint Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Hmm..I could never install the Home version on my server. It had to be v3 or v4.

    Can't really see any reason to have AV running the server anyway since all clients have NOD32 installed and anything scary would be coming thru via the desktops anyway.

    VP
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    The Home Editions of ESET NOD32 Antivirus v4.0 and later (v4.0, v4.2, and v5.0) are compatible with Microsoft Windows Home Server.

    The older ESET NOD32 Antivirus v3 was released before Windows Home Server hit the market, and required a Business Edition license.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  6. ThomasAdams

    ThomasAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Thank you all very much for taking the time to answer. I had previously let my license run out (client) and I am looking to purchase ESET Nod32 again. Thought I might just as well get the server taken care of while I was at it and I am glad I can use the same product on both.

    Best regards,
    Tom

    PS. There are some Mac users on the network, they do not want to run AV for various reasons. While the chances of them being infected is extremely low, they can pass files along that are infected.

    Aside from that, having a compromised server can happen without the need for a client. There are always other ways of getting infected, such as via a vulnerability in the OS, I love Windows, but security is not its strong point. For a few dollars more, why not run it on the server...

    Just look at some of the recent cases, Steam, Microsoft Xbox Live, Sony PSN, and my bank to name some right off the top of my head. While no AV/Firewall is a 100% guarantee, I know what not using an AV/Firewall does for you. :eek:
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2011
  7. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    There is a version of ESET NOD32 Antivirus for Mac OS X, called ESET Cybersecurity for OS X; while the Mac malware incident rate is pretty low, it is still above zero, plus it provides some level of protection for Windows-based VMs on OS X, which may or may not be important for your environment.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.