who here is on bt broadband and has a bt home hub?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by lodore, May 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hello,
    who has bt broad band and the rubbish useless bt home hub?
    it worked fine for a few weeks.
    now it disconnects me everynight and when connected laggs me tons.
    it makes the online game i play impossible.
    anyone having similar problems?
    i might buy a cheap buffalo router to replace it and plug the home hub in to it for the bt voip phone thing
    lodore
     
  2. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,634
    Location:
    UK
    I haven't bothered with the home hub even though I keep getting emails/letters in post about upgrading to wireless. If I had a laptop, I might see the benefit, but otherwise I see no point in my case.
     
  3. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    I've heard and read about so many problems with home hub and how poor the service is I hesitate to offer anything. But, you should first ring BT, 0845 600 7030, 24/7.
    Failing that:D have a look at your connection. - are you plugged into the master socket, have you checked your home for interference, have filters on everything and in the right places...signal to noise ratio. S/N is a good starting point.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    once i get my ethernet card setup tomorrow i will plug in my old router to see if that works better.
    i dont have a master socket.
    i plug in to the normal phone socket then have to use a filter.
    i have had this setup for years.
    i first had problems when i upgraded to 2mb.
    then in the end it settled down and worked great.
    then i got the home hub fine for a few weeks and now rubbish.
    if my old router works fine it must be a problem with the home hub and not my line.
    lodore
     
  5. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Good idea to see if theres a difference, I didn't think you had a spare as you were gonna buy one. At least that way you can see if your one of those who's having problems with a homehub.
     
  6. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    the old router is even worse.
    i will ring up the bt number posted above.
    ok they basically told me to do the basics e.g. ipconfig and ping.
    they checked the line and said it was fine.
    i told them im getting a ehternet card tomorrow.
    they told me to change over the micro filter.
    i changed the micro filter and will see how it goes.
    if it still disconnects with the ethernet card i will ring them back.
    lodore
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2007
  7. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Yep, sounds like S/N, static maybe interference prob that's what BT are telling you as well with the filter. Might be wise to have a look around for a like diagram of your setup (have you a home network, fax...etc) and look where the filters go.

    dslzoneuk
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2007
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    i have installed the pci ethernet card and now the internet is really fast
    i can watch a video on youtube or watch a movie trailer and it streams faster than i can watch it.
    but then it goes really slow until i restart the router.
    so i might buy a new microfilter.
    i have two phone sockets.
    both have microfilters.
    lodore
     
  9. Meriadoc

    Meriadoc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    2,642
    Location:
    Cymru
    Insist they send you some, (if you have to, insist on them being free.)
    Not all micro filters are the same though, BTs are middle of the road.
    Remember every telephony device. eg everything from telephones and faxes to digital boxes like 'Sky') must pass a filter.
    BT Master socket (main BT telephone socket)
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2007
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.