Which way for backingup?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sarutaro, Oct 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sarutaro

    sarutaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    It seems that backup image can be created either by opening Acronis True Image program or rescue bootable disk. I have been backing up directly from TI program. It worked well without any problems in the past. I am wondering whether backing up from bootable rescue disk could be more potentially reliable because it minimizes the involvement of Windows OS. sarutaro
     
  2. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    I can only pass on my own experience of backing up with TI. I always backup from within Windows with all my usual antivirus, antispyware and firewall programs running. Furthermore I happily continue running the computer and downloading etc. while background imaging is taking place. I would not however install a new program or reboot whilst the backup is running. It works for me from a scheduled task and image creation has never been a problem.
     
  3. noonie

    noonie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    I preferr using the boot cd. The only true test is in an actual restore to another hdrive.
     
  4. Xpilot

    Xpilot Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Posts:
    2,318
    For every new version of TI and new builds that is exactly the test that I do. I take out my working HDD, put in a replacement drive, restore from the Acronis CD and then reboot . It gives me a warm glow of satisfaction when this proves that my chosen backup stratergy works each and every time.

    Xpilot.
     
  5. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    If there are errors reported when creating a backup image from within Windows, the Recovery CD approach is a better alternative. If there are no errors when creating an image in Windows, then that is fine and far more convenient.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.