Which HIPS with Zone Alarm suite ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by blacknight, Apr 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
  2. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: ZA Internet Security + DS ?

    I resolved the problem between ZA and CIS :) , only a last permission that I forgot to set for the CIS. But the question remains for DS.
     
  3. MagisDing

    MagisDing Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Posts:
    41
    Re: ZA Internet Security + DS ?

    I still belive that the Firewall component of CIS is more powerful and compatible with most P2P software when the download speed is awesome;)
     
  4. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: ZA Internet Security + DS ?

    I'm not interested to P2P but thanks. But I must deny my previous post: ZA and CIS are definitively not compatible: they conflict to kernel level. :'(

    So my question now is: which HIPS with ZA suite ?



    TO THE MODS: please, could you modify the 3D title in: " Which HIPS with Zone Alarm suite ? Thanks.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: ZA Internet Security + DS ?

    before i used malware defender and zone alarm with no problems;)
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Re: ZA Internet Security + DS ?

    Actually the HIPS in ZA Suite are quite decent... you don't get the hysteric CIS levels but still more than enough. You can enable advanced Program control, application interaction and component control in ZA Program control section to enjoy even more pop-ups. :)

    I would rather add a sandboxing application or imaging tool if you want to increase your lines of defense

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  7. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    I think ZA is enough for protection. pretty decent
     
  8. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Re: ZA Internet Security + DS ?

    Yaa,it was the first setting I did after the installation. But I'm used to have the " complete " control of my system with classical HIPS as SSM ( :( ) or Defense +....Malware Defender is not a bad idea, but I had to pay for it..:rolleyes:
    :)

    Ya, I 'm using it it with Returnil Premium Edition. And anyway I have Acronis TI from last year.
    Thanks. :)
     
  9. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: Which HIPS works with ZoneAlarm Security ?

    zonealarm works great with malware defender;)
     
  10. Eirik

    Eirik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    544
    Location:
    Chantilly, Virginia
    Re: Which HIPS works with ZoneAlarm Security ?

    Blue Ridge has received a couple of reports of problems between Zone Alarm Pro (version dependent) and AppGuard. I vaguely recall it having something to do with ZAP hooking something but not properly resetting a pointer, or was it not resetting a pointer at all. Sorry about the ambiguity; I don't have the trouble ticket notes handy. Anyway, if this is true (assumes our limited observations were not isolated), this might explain an earlier poster's observations about ZAP not getting along with other security products, which I cannot confirm beyond my opening sentence.

    Cheers,

    Eirik
     
  11. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Thanks for the notice. ;) I like the fw and the av of ZA, and his system protection features. I would like combine it with an HIPS: so, beyond the HIPS, I had also ZA protection as a further layer.
     
  12. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Have you considered running a behavior blocker? Mamutu, Prevx 3, and ThreatFire are all quality programs. I've personally run Mamutu and Prevx 3 along with ZA products with no conflicts.
     
  13. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Ya, but, as I wrote in a duplicated post, I can imagine many security set up ( sandboxing and virtualising softwares, BB....) to join to ZA, but I can't live without a real HIPS :) ;)
     
  14. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
    What about EQSecure?
     
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    As suggested in the other thread whichever HIPS you will choose turn OFF ZA HIPS. Otherwise you will most likely join the family of ZA users complaining of ZA not working or the settings getting corrupted :)

    Fax
     
  16. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe
    Sure Fax, I remember your suggest ;) . The problem is: I would like to use a complete classical HIPS AND the HIPS features of ZA as a second defense layer. But I see that it seems impossible...

    For Renegade: I was thinking to EqSecure, I used it one year ago, but I stopped for his English developement was very slow. And how about EqSecure architecture: does it install totally at the kernel level ?
     
  17. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost


    If you like to experiment yes... but ZA HIPS are hooking at kernel level... more tools hooking at kernel can easily cause problems to the OS and to the general stability of the system (windows kernel was not designed to accomodate this) + the tools may risk to block each other rather than blocking the threats.... End results? --> Less security :)

    Look for complementary tools rather than overlapping tools or disable them accordingly.

    Fax
     
  18. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,433
    Location:
    Europe

    Yes, I know it. Once I used CIS - with Defense+ together SSM, then I unistalled SSM for this reason.
     
  19. tipo

    tipo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Posts:
    408
    Location:
    romania
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.