Which Graphics Card Do You Use?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Firecat, Feb 21, 2005.

?

Which graphics chipset do you use?

  1. GeForce1

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. GeForce2 MX

    6 vote(s)
    4.3%
  3. GeForce2 Ti/Pro/GTS/Ultra

    1 vote(s)
    0.7%
  4. GeForce3/GeForce3 Ti

    3 vote(s)
    2.1%
  5. GeForce4 MX

    8 vote(s)
    5.7%
  6. GeForce4 Ti

    2 vote(s)
    1.4%
  7. GeForce FX 5200/5500/5600/5700 series

    12 vote(s)
    8.6%
  8. GeForce 6600 series

    13 vote(s)
    9.3%
  9. GeForce 6800 series

    10 vote(s)
    7.1%
  10. Radeon 7xxx

    3 vote(s)
    2.1%
  11. Radeon 8xxx

    2 vote(s)
    1.4%
  12. Radeon 9000-9200

    11 vote(s)
    7.9%
  13. Radeon 9550-9600 series

    11 vote(s)
    7.9%
  14. Radeon 9700-Radeon 9800 series

    23 vote(s)
    16.4%
  15. Radeon X-Series

    12 vote(s)
    8.6%
  16. Integrated (onboard) - Intel

    10 vote(s)
    7.1%
  17. Integrated (onboard) - SiS

    1 vote(s)
    0.7%
  18. Integrated (onboard) - VIA

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  19. Integrated (onboard) - NVIDIA

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  20. Integrated (onboard) - ATI

    2 vote(s)
    1.4%
  21. XGI - Please mention!

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  22. S3 - Please mention!

    1 vote(s)
    0.7%
  23. SiS - Please mention!

    1 vote(s)
    0.7%
  24. Other

    8 vote(s)
    5.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    Point taken Muf.

    But if it were for everyone around we would still be using the old version of ms word 3.0 cause it was good enough then...so why renewing and revamping hardware for playing games?...It's a hobby first of all, and why having three different machines if you can do everything with one :D

    One of the main reasons why we still are able to play the latest games on those consoles: let's install Kaspersky, Ewido and Tiny on that XBox and see if it is still able to play those games? afaik the processor in the consoles are P4 1400Mhz...it wouldn't handle the games right if you surf and browse/burn music while typing a letter... on that gamingconsole I guess.

    But I do understand what you're saying! Enjoy the rest of the weekend :)

    Andy
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,221
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Point noted :)

    What I meant to say was that Doom 3 at low detail still looks better than Max Payne at high detail :)

    That effectively proves that even at lower details, games of the future will look better on your PC than the current games at high details :)

    Consoles, currently have just one problem - hardware expandability. While they can offer excellent speed - the hardware may or may not allow for some features to be enabled - Floating point color for example (this is the main reason why Xbox doom 3 does not look as good as PC doom 3).

    When a console is released, it offers the best tech, but no upgradeability - it can limit a developer in quite a few ways. Therefore the developers have to spend more time optimising for the consoles. This is why some developers choose to make their games only for PS2 or XBox - so they can optimise better for those.
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2005
  3. muf

    muf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    926
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Firecat and Infinity.

    Good points you bring up there. Consoles have a major disadvantage in their incapability to be upgraded, and yes if i installed some security apps on an xbox it would bring it to it's knee's.

    Wouldn't it be nice if pc's lasted for at least 10 years for running the latest security/business apps. And games consoles were upgradeable and only cost about $50 for the latest graphics chip to bring it up to date. Well we can dream!

    Thanks for your thoughts ppl and have a good day. :D

    muf
     
  4. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,221
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Lets hope it becomes a reality someday :)
     
  5. pndan

    pndan Guest

    how much is the fx 6600?
     
  6. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,221
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Anywhere from about USD 115 to USD 200, depending upon whether you want to buy GeForce 6600LE, 6600GT or just the vanilla 6600..
     
  7. Close_Hauled

    Close_Hauled Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,015
    Location:
    California
    You did not ask about Matrox. We have several multi monitor systems that use Matrox. One system has four 21" monitors being driven by one card.
     
  8. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
    There really should be a Matrox (at least Parhelia) in this poll.
    They have the best quality 2D and multi-monitor setup.
    The 3D speed is not great, but it depends on what you use you computer for.
    If you are an avid 3D gamer, then forget it.
    Otherwise they rock.
     
  9. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,221
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I'm sorry, my mistake. I do know of Matrox, they have excellent 2D solutions.

    About the Parhelia, I want to ask a question - Is it really capable of doing floating point ops with the vertex shader? o_O
     
  10. Devinco

    Devinco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,524
  11. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,597
    Location:
    USA
    How would you guys compare the Leadtek PX6800TDH Geforce 6800 256MB 256-bit DDR PCI Express x16 card with the H.I.S. Radeon X800GT IceQ card ?
     
  12. TonyW

    TonyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,741
    Location:
    UK
    To be honest, I haven't a clue what graphics card I have!
     
  13. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Well i have a Gainward FX5700LE. Hows this gfx card??
     
  14. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I use the 9800xt, and it is indeed a great card, but next time around I am definately going Nvidia due to lack of linux driver support for ati. I'd even trade my 9800xt for a 5950 ultra if someone wanted to.
     
  15. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,597
    Location:
    USA
    I'm running a PX6800 256 MB and have turned on Coolbits.....i use the Winfast program that came with to bump the clocks up to recommended optimized settings.....have also installed Riva 2.0 Build 15.7 and more or less used the defaults.....a few days ago the Winfast program otimized to 416 and 783.......today(for reasons i do not understand)it was 408 and 767........is it ok to keep these programs running or should i drop one and if so, which one.....
     
  16. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    8,221
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    Coolbits is OK. But just use the Winfast program and not RivaTuner.

    @kalpik - Your graphics card is:

    DX7 games - good
    DX8 games - OK
    DX9 games - not so good
     
  17. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    I have this one, but I don't play games, I'm not interested in any graphic applications. So my graphics card is a poor man's solution :)
    Sapphire (PCI-E) X550 Advantage 256M DDR PCI-E VGA/TVO/DVI-I Heatsink 128bit 200Mhz
    The prize was crucial in my choice : 82 EURO.
     
  18. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,597
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Firecat :)
    BTW..i just made 1000 posts...not much compared to some, but a lot for me......long live Wilders....
     
  19. kalpik

    kalpik Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    Delhi, India
    Hmm... not very comforting! But thanks anyways! :p
     
  20. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    Congratz RainWalker !

    splendid, PciE is very stable good performer! may I ask what brand of 6800 Nvidia?

    grtz!

    /edit: reason why asking? .. possibility for you to upgrade it with bios flash to GT6800 :D

    ;)
     
  21. NGRhodes

    NGRhodes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Posts:
    2,380
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    TNT1 1999 (approx) vintage on my server (well its a server).

    Laptop has some rubbish built in intel 3d junk, but I dont play games so does'nt bother me.
     
  22. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,220
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    3D Labs Wildcat VP 800 (dual monitor)
    Backup mach: ATI Radeon 9600SE (dual monitor)
    No gamers here. CAD / graphics.
     
  23. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    7800gt, here is my 3dmark05 score.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Sonap

    Sonap Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Limenaria Thassos (GR)
    GeForce FX 5600XT

    Regards,
    sonap
     
  25. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    7800GT [256, pci-e x16]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.