Which firewall?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by kevlu, Dec 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kevlu

kevlu Registered Member

I've been using Agnitums Outpost firewall for several years now. But since v.3 came i've been having trouble with the firewall. I decided that it is time for a change. What are your recommendations regarding new firewalls? I'm testing Look 'n' stop right now. I like the firewall but i'm not convinced yet. I've heard good things about 8Signs/Visnetic but i havent tested them yet. Is there someone out there who has tested 8signs firewall and can tell me pros and cons regarding the firewall? Memory consumption etc.?

Are there other firewalls i should consider? I open for any suggestions.

2. Chuck57

Chuck57 Registered Member

Re: Wich firewall?

Visnetic/8signs is a very good firewall in my opinion, if you aren't concerned with outbound protection. If you have other software monitoring your outgoing processes or your computer is clean, I don't think you could go wrong with Visnetic/8Signs.

I'm currently running the latest version of ZoneAlarm Pro on mine and find it very light on my system compared to the older versions, and haven't had any problem at all with the new ZoneAlarm.

I also have a license for Outpost, but find it heavier than ZA, which surprised me.

Look n Stop is the lightest. 8 Signs is also low on resource use. Of the two, whichever you are comfortable with is the one to choose. I like them both and wouldn't feel undergunned using either LnS or Visnetic.

3. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

4. Kerodo

Kerodo Registered Member

Re: Wich firewall?

8Signs/Visnetic firewall is pretty nice, although if you're going to go that route (no outbound app control), then I think I'd opt for CHX instead, which gives you more configurability and SPI for UDP/ICMP as well.

5. kevlu

kevlu Registered Member