Which firewall do you use?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by firefox2008, Nov 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. firefox2008

    firefox2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Posts:
    125
    For the last 5-6 years I have used Zone Alarm. I didn't think too much about it because it loaded up nicely and very quietly did its job so I was happy with it.
    I saw on a site that a firewall called Comodo was supposed to be the best free firewall and decided to try it. I have only used it for about an hour now and it doesn't seem to be any different than Zone Alarm to me.
    Have you always used the same firewall, or do you try to find the best most secure one?
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I sometimes try out different firewalls but not because I want a more secure one. I just look for firewalls that are easy-to-use, light, and can handle p2p/gaming.
     
  3. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
  4. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    No. I love to experiment. It's like a drug and I need usually a weekly or monthly fix to satiate my appetite, though I have recently settled on Outpost 6.0 on one pc and Jetico 2 on another. Jetico, in particular, offers outstanding security with little impact on system resources.

    Absolutely! It has become fashionable and perhaps a perception of appearing "cool" in this forum to declare:

    "I only need inbound protection. Who cares that my programs call home. They need to anyways!"

    For me, I want complete control over how my programs connect to the Internet. I will not settle for less!
     
  5. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    For all of my systems, I have stayed with the original firewall program and haven't replaced any of them. Since some of my systems are outdated, I cannot just "switch" to another program. Also, I never trust the uninstall process of any program and just replacing it with another totally new program usually causes other problems. Unless the program stops working or becomes a liability, I usually stay with it.
     
  6. ccsito

    ccsito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Nation's Capital
    This is because firewalls were meant to be standalone programs without regards to any other processes on your PC. Unfortunately when you add a filter barrier (such as one for your A/C or gas furnace), you slow down the flow of data (or air) and you affect other things in that flow path. :D
     
  7. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    Have you tried Jetico v1? If it's installed on a clean PC (no remnants of other security software) it's almost trouble-free, except for the pop-ups :D
    Also, it's super fast.
     
  8. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Limited abilities with configuring the one's that don't have issues is another stumbling block, that unfortunately I suffer from. Hopefully time will help solve this. For now, HIPS are my safe haven...
     
  9. Wordward

    Wordward Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    707
    I didn't seem to notice any difference in browser speed when I used Webroot Desktop Firewall with DSA enabled. And I don't think there's much of difference in my browser speed now with ZA Antispyware installed either. I tried Firefox with and without ZA running and that's how I came to that conclusion. Can certain HIPS slow down the browser though? I always felt ThreatFire did this slightly.
     
  10. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Hardware FW along with Sandboxie configured to stop any outbounds from within a sandboxed environment.

    Minimal resources and highly effective!;)
     
  11. SamSpade

    SamSpade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    415
    In the past year, I've used Jetico v.1, Comodo 2.4 and 3.xx (beta), and am now using Online Armor free. The last two are similar application-based firewalls (like ZoneAlarm), whereas Jetico is a rules-based fw, meaning you have to manually set up your rules to make full use of its capabilities. (You can give apps blanket priviledges, like a app-based fw, but that kind of defeats the purpose of a "tighter" rules-based fw). If you like to have fine control, go with Jetico or another rules-based fw -- Look n Stop, Kerio 2.x, or others. If app-based works for you, then OA or Comodo are highly rated for inbound, leak protection (outbound) and limited rules making ("granular control").

    SamSpade


    |||
     
  12. BBKing212

    BBKing212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    jetico V2
     
  13. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    You need to time the browser with TF on then off, then repeat with a different browser.
     
  14. luciddream

    luciddream Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Posts:
    2,497
    In terms of inbound protection they're pretty much all the same. Making a decision should be based on if they're compatible with your current setup, how light they run, and if outbound control and/or HIPS is a want of yours. I have used Comodo 2.4 and liked it.

    I'm using Kaspersky Internet Security 7 right now, it has everything I want under 1 hood and it's been working great for me. Every time something new comes along I try it out. So far nothing has impressed me enough to give me a reason to change.
     
  15. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,

    If you got a firewall that works for you - don't switch.

    Regarding what I look for - compatibility, especially with p2p and games. Security, they are all pretty much the same. I don't care about leaktests as they mean you got your comp infected.

    In the Windows environment, on my strictly production machines I use Sygate. Other setups, including testing and such, I use several others.

    Mrk
     
  16. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi, this is my first post.

    I am from Austria, German is my native language and therefore not every pun is intended.

    I also use Sygate (Free)
    Gaming, p2p and surfing are my main activities.
    Why I’m not using XP firewall? Because of its limits compared to a “complete” PF.
    I don’t like to be disturbed by any local network traffic while I’m on the way to the next “Massacre” or “Monster Kill” in UT3.

    But Vista will be a necessary evil in middle term especially for gaming.
    (Please tell me that I’m wrong…)*puppy*

    So which one to choose for Vista?
    With all the qualities Sygate offers: rock stable, easy to use, small footprint, doesn’t affect network latency too much, can’t be shut down in task manager etc.

    Cheers
     
  17. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    i have 2 computers in the home
    one of them i put kaspersky internet security
    the another computer i put avira antivir premium with comodo firewall
     
  18. despuesvengo

    despuesvengo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    hello

    I was reading all this and I will say something and then I expect some suggestions from you, because I do not know that much concerning firewalls. Just the basics let's say.

    I use Sygate. I know, old, outdated, expired. I used Netveda 2 years ago but now that is back again alive, I installed it but noticed after some minutes it takes ram, lots. I posted this somewhere but it seems to be it just happens in my pc and some others. Even the Netveda forum did not answer. OK.

    Sygate...don't know but from the moment I installed it pop ups asks you give permission or not to blablabla...and that's it! No problem with p2p, no problem with anything and this is where I expect advice from you....IS IT SO SIMPLE or I am doing a total messo_Oo_O?

    I ask this because I read read and read and I see guys talking about inbound outbound, opening, closing, creating rules, creating rules to forbid the previous rule and I think to myself " I only say yes or no" and THAT'S IT!

    thanks so much
     
  19. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    You can create those rules in Sygate too - they are called advanced rules. I create those for my lan and virtual machines. But for normal daily usage, you're most likely ok.
    Mrk
     
  20. danny9

    danny9 Departed Friend

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Posts:
    678
    Location:
    Clinton Twp. Mi
    Over the years I've used many different firewalls.
    I don't necessarily look for the best if it's not the best on my system.
    It has to be light on resources, fairly easy to use and run smooth. In other words no slow downs when surfing.
    Right now I'm using Online Armor free.
    I tried it and like it.
    Looks like this one found a new home.:D
    Dan
     
  21. despuesvengo

    despuesvengo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    19
    thanks MrKvonic...I will keep using sygate, at least in grc.com it shows stealth mode
     
  22. 212eta

    212eta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Posts:
    67
    After I was dissappointed while trying Agnitum Outpost Pro Firewall v6.0,
    I am testing Online Armor (free version) and
    Webroot Desktop Firewall v5.5.10.20.
    For the time being, Online Armor seems to be more responssive to alerts :thumb: .
    We 'll see...:shifty:
     
  23. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Fully activate DSA in Webroot(see thread) and you'll get more alerts than you can handle.

    Anyway what sort of criteria is more alerts for testing a firewall-none-some are designed to be more user friendly.

    PS I need sunglasses to read your posts-I hope you dont start a new fashion!
     
  24. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    More like welders glasses
     
  25. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Comodo 2.4 with no plan to move to 3.0. I have said this before, because of its simplicity Comodo 2.4 is destined to be a classic, like Kerio 2.15. It will be in use long after 3.0 comes out.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.