Which browser should you use?

Discussion in 'privacy general' started by Franklin, Apr 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Came across this in another forum.May be worth a look and comment:

    http://www.hardwareanalysis.com/content/topic/57686/

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2006
  2. bluebishop

    bluebishop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    I use both browsers. The beauty about open source apps is that one can go beyond conjecture and go into the details of the application by examining the source code (at least for Firefox).

    Hard coding this so-called relationship between Google and Firefox cannot be kept a secret, if ever.... so I doubt the basis of the conclusion....
     
  3. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    I've been using FF for several years now, so i got a bit worried when i read this.
    I immediately did some tests of my own and lo and behold, i found nothing, no
    google IP's, no delays in surfing of any kind, nothing.

    I think it's rather a bold statement to say that this browser is spyware and it would have come to the surface a long time ago because, as said by bluebishop, it is open source software, so any coder/expert can check the sourcecode.

    Franklin, you almost made me use IE again. :D

    regards
    Lamehand
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    I agree with you both,Lamehand and bluebishop .FF user here and intend to stick with it.

    Posted the article as a matter of interest and I am by no means expert enough to accurately comment on it.:)
     
  5. Lamehand

    Lamehand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    428
    Location:
    the Netherlands,very near to the North sea
    What i gather from this story is that he upgraded to 1.5.0.2 and he didn't have internet connection when he set it up.
    So when he went onto the internet with it, it connected, or tried to connect, to a page where his update/upgrade would be counted.This page could be from google, i am not certain of this.
    This is normal behaviour and nothing special.

    Regards
    Lamehand
     
  6. Mrkvonic

    Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Posts:
    8,695
    Hello,
    Frankly, I'm tired of the conspiracy threads about open software.
    Mrk
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.