Where to start?

Discussion in 'Trojan Defence Suite' started by dallen, May 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dallen

dallen Registered Member

I am new to this defense suite, but I'm willing to put the time in to learn. I was unsure where to begin so I started with a port scan and have attached a file containing the results. How can I determain which ports should be in use and which should not. Does anyone have any suggestions on reading material that will help me? Thanks.

Attached Files:

2. dallen

dallen Registered Member

Just to let everyone know. I found a good starting point for reading material. Who would have thought to look in the TDS help file? I'm still open for any suggestions.

3. Jooske

Jooske Registered Member

Hi again Dallen,
    good to see you learning! The Help Manual is a respected piece of information in which you find more then info about pressing the right button!
    You have this forum and as licensed TDS operator you also can now ask access to the TDS private (licensed operators only) areas in the DCS forums (see link in my signature)
    for lots more info and backgrounds.
    Did you also check your TDS configuration with basics FanJ described in his thread http://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=2871

If you look in the TDS > Utilities > Port Reference
    you type in the port numbers and see if there is a special description for them.
    In PE is the same function, btw.
    Seeing those ports in use can be because of your system settings, maybe you have sockets installed to listen on default trojan ports, some software using those ports like 443 and 445, such things. Suppose you see the same in the PE netstat sockets list, right?

4. Gavin - DiamondCS

Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

Which ports are open isn't an overly accurate method to detect trojans, but of course knowing which ports are open is useful !