Where is Win2000 after XP Installation?

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by ahne, Feb 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ahne

    ahne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    Hello,

    I had Win2000 and WinXP Pro on my Computer (same hd).

    Than I installed Acronis Disk Director Suite and installed the Operating booting software. It worked fine.

    Than I had to reinstall (normal) WinXP.

    Since than I can not find my Win200 system any more. It is still on the hd, but Acronis does not find it.

    Questions:

    1. Why did it disapear? What went wrong?
    2. What can I do to get it back into my Acronis Operating booting software at startup?
    3. What do I have to do if I will have to reinstall Win2000 with XP still on the hd? I can not find a good help at the help files of Acronis.

    Thank you very much!
     
  2. ahne

    ahne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    I am disappointed that until now nobody could answer me that question and even a note to the support by e-mail is not answered within weeks...! :thumbd:
     
  3. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    As an electrician I belong to a trade forum since its formation and on that forum it is customary NOT to answer a post if the question has been answered before or if it could be GLEAMED from previous POSTS. The reason being is if one is a 'professional' one must do his/her own home work. I assume that is the same somewhat with this forum (I have only limited experience with this forum but it seems that this is true to an extent here also).

    Therefore if your question is NOT ANSWERED the answer to your question probably exists already (or could be deduced from multiple POSTS). Of course asking for help NUMEROUS times might help as someone might take up your question anyway. Remember, in this world the squeeky wheel gets greased first. If I knew the answer to your questions with certainty I would have replied. I'm sure no maliciousness is intended by members of this forum (compared to a trade forum this forum seems extremely friendly and generous in replying to questions already 'answered' {in this forum you don't get a reply of "read the POSTS first idiot"}). It usually helps to mention that you have read many related posts but are still confused.
     
  4. ahne

    ahne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    I really do not know what you want to tell me/us here in the forum with your post.

    As you may can understand that it is not a good service of Acronis NOT to answer e-mail requests on their support.

    And it is allways a good help for all in life to stay polite. I am not english (so please excuse if I do mistakes and a german forum does not exist as far as I know), but I think you want to tell me to stay polite for myself. OK with me! But why do you tell me that? o_O

    Usually the software companies also do their support work in forums. So I thought also here with Acronis.

    Several customers of mine are using Acronis Software. What shall I tell them?! I get no answers of mail-requests? I get also no answers in the forum? OK for all users not to reply.

    And for the hint of searching in forum: I ALLWAYS search first and I hate it if I than get a post that I fist have to search! All those who write that should think about that it may be difficult to find the correct search words to get the answer you are looking for. Maybe it is somewhere written in the forum. I could not find it till today!

    Sorry if I misunderstood something. My english is not too good and right now I have a terrible headache too :(

    It would be nice if someone has the answer how to get Windows 2000 back into my systems, into the bootsoftware of Acronis. I have no clue how to do that.

    Thanks.
     
  5. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, ahne

    :ouch: Sorry to hear that.

    Where they dual boot?

    Good to hear.

    New MBR with doing that.

    You messed the bootloader up not Acronis DDS. :eek:

    You will have to tell them you did not backup before you made critical changes :blink:. [always backup before you make any critical changes please :) ]

    You will need to edit WinXP's boot.ini file, here is the help and info:- How to edit the Boot.ini file in Windows XP

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  6. ahne

    ahne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    The good thing is that it happend to my computer here :)

    Thanks for the link I will look at it!

    Thanks!

    I looked at it right now, but it is not Acronis... Do I really have to change that boot.ini? Not something in Acronis? I am afraid to change there something. I really have no time to reinstall XP again...

    I first installed 2000 than XP.

    Later I installed Acronis OS on XP.

    Than I had to reinstall XP.

    Since than I have no option to boot into 2000.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2007
  7. cortez

    cortez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    444
    Location:
    Chicago
    Dear ahne,

    I am sorry if I offended you, this was not my intention. I assure you that I did not accuse you of anything. I only wanted to let you know that persistence often gets results in any forum and that a renewed request for help might work. I could have phrased my reply more understandable. Good Luck with your Acronis problem.

    Regards cortez
     
  8. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,482
    Location:
    California
    ahne:

    What TheQuest is trying to say is that when you reinstalled XP it overwrote the original boot.ini file. This broke the dual-boot option to boot into either XP or Win2000.

    So, yes. You will have to edit the boot.ini file. If you do have a backup of the original boot.ini file then you could restore that, or at least look at it and see what changes need to be made. This is assuming you were originally using XP to dual-boot. Is that the case?

    When you had OSS setup and working, did it have separate menu options for XP and Win2000?

    Were you dual-booting XP and Win2000 before installing OSS? It seems that you were which means that OSS got the Win2000 boot information from the boot.ini file of XP.
     
  9. ahne

    ahne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Posts:
    24
    It helped!

    In the boot.ini was a ; !

    I deleted it and I got Windows 2000 back!

    Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.