Where is this drop-down list coming from?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by allizomeniz, Apr 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    Anyone know what causes this drop-down list to appear every time I try to save a file? If the file I'm saving starts with "l" for example, as soon as I type l in the "File name" box, the list pops up and shows every file in that folder that starts with l. I'm sure it serves some useful purpose for someone but I don't need it and find it annoying. Is it possible to turn it off? It happens a lot when I save images with Firefox but I think it might be a function of Windows Explorer, I'm not really sure. Picture attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01.jpg
      01.jpg
      File size:
      24.4 KB
      Views:
      135
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    AutoComplete is already off. When it's on, it finishes the file name for you, highlighted in blue, but doesn't produce a drop-down list like I'm getting. Any other suggestions?
     
  4. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    It seems that some app. was installed in your system to do that.

    o_O
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,904
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    Thanks for the replies, I appreciate all the input. I did finally find the remedy. There's a setting in TweakUI>Common Dialogs>Remember previously-used filenames. I just unticked it and problem solved. :)

    JRViejo, I was just looking at that article you linked to. That would definitely work too. :)
     
  7. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    A TweakUI to Win 7?
     
  8. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    900
    Actually, I was using XP when I found the TweakUI solution. For Vista, the method in JRViejo's link worked.
     
  9. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Nice to see you found the solution. :shifty:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.