Where is this drop-down list coming from?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by allizomeniz, Apr 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Anyone know what causes this drop-down list to appear every time I try to save a file? If the file I'm saving starts with "l" for example, as soon as I type l in the "File name" box, the list pops up and shows every file in that folder that starts with l. I'm sure it serves some useful purpose for someone but I don't need it and find it annoying. Is it possible to turn it off? It happens a lot when I save images with Firefox but I think it might be a function of Windows Explorer, I'm not really sure. Picture attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 01.jpg
      01.jpg
      File size:
      24.4 KB
      Views:
      137
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    AutoComplete is already off. When it's on, it finishes the file name for you, highlighted in blue, but doesn't produce a drop-down list like I'm getting. Any other suggestions?
     
  4. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    981
    It seems that some app. was installed in your system to do that.

    o_O
     
  5. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    30,603
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  6. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Thanks for the replies, I appreciate all the input. I did finally find the remedy. There's a setting in TweakUI>Common Dialogs>Remember previously-used filenames. I just unticked it and problem solved. :)

    JRViejo, I was just looking at that article you linked to. That would definitely work too. :)
     
  7. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    981
    A TweakUI to Win 7?
     
  8. allizomeniz

    allizomeniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Posts:
    943
    Actually, I was using XP when I found the TweakUI solution. For Vista, the method in JRViejo's link worked.
     
  9. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    981
    Nice to see you found the solution. :shifty:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.