where does a program record window size height ? how can i find it? thanks

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Apr 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Hi

    i use photoshop and camera raw

    well after i resize the camera raw windows , photoshop store the size height width in the registry

    but i don't know where..

    how can i find out?

    i used process explorer , filemon and regmon

    but i was not able to detect

    does somebody teach me how discover?

    i would be glad

    i tried filemon and regmon , filter photoshop.exe but nothing


    thanks
    have a nice day
    thanks
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Most likely it will be in HKLM\Software\adobe\photoshop or HKCU\Software\adobe\photoshop

    Of course those paths may differ. You might try InstallRite, as it will take a snapshot of the registry, then tell you after a second snapshot everything that was written/modified/deleted.

    Pedro recommends Total Uninstall 2.35 or ZSoft Uninstaller. I have not tried those. I don't know if they only work during install or not. I do know that InstallRite can be used anytime.

    Sul.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thanks Sul
    in the
    there is nothing

    have you photoshop cs3?
    can you give it a try?
     
  4. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I do not. It is almost certain to reside in HKLM/Software or HKCU/Software. There could also be in the Program Files folder (adobe) a file that houses it. As well, in program files\common files, you may find it. Finally, it may also be in your profile/application data folder somewhere. It may even be in my documents somewhere. But my guess is the registry.

    Sul.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thanks
    i guess you have not photoshop

    but filemon and regmon should to the job , shouldn't they?
     
  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    They should. Been awhile since I have used them. I cannot remember how much resolution they have. I do know that installrite will do it. I have no doubts of that.

    And no, I don't do photoshop. I spend free time coding and such nonsense. Sorry.

    Sul.
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    i used this setting
    are they good?

    i enabled only write
     

    Attached Files:

  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    I'm not certain but I'd guess that info's hard-coded. Instead go investigate FreeSnap, Blue Onion Software; reSizer, Zestant Utilities; or Sizer, BrianApps. Reports weren't good for Winsize2 on either XP or Vista, and I doubt Eusing's AutoWindowManager is what you're after. If someone mentions ResizeEnable, keep in mind it provides "coarse" adjustment @ best.

    Likewise, I imagine if you knew where to look ResourceHacker might allow you to tinker with those settings.
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    thanks
    but these program are able to resize windows
    but they don't tell me where the program save the info
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Like I said, I assume they're hard-coded. That you'll probably be pressed to hunt around on your own, an overview.

    Maybe something in these here pages:

    Functions, names, and locations of preference files in Photoshop CS3 - http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb401600

    Viewing Camera RAW thumbnails in Windows Explorer - http://www.suodenjoki.dk/us/productions/articles/raw_thumbnail.htm

    Mr_Unreliable's got a tool if you pick out a string - http://www.developersdex.com/asp/message.asp?p=1825&r=6626712

    And Jeff mentions a bunch of preference paths here - http://photo.net/digital-darkroom-forum/00GMbN

    As far as values I'd ask about the "SetWindowPlacement API" on an appropriate forum.
    Then again, it may be as easy as what these folks are discussing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,156
    Great find
    Globalforce you the best!:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.