where does a program record window size height ? how can i find it? thanks

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by mantra, Apr 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,528
    Hi

    i use photoshop and camera raw

    well after i resize the camera raw windows , photoshop store the size height width in the registry

    but i don't know where..

    how can i find out?

    i used process explorer , filemon and regmon

    but i was not able to detect

    does somebody teach me how discover?

    i would be glad

    i tried filemon and regmon , filter photoshop.exe but nothing


    thanks
    have a nice day
    thanks
     
  2. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    Most likely it will be in HKLM\Software\adobe\photoshop or HKCU\Software\adobe\photoshop

    Of course those paths may differ. You might try InstallRite, as it will take a snapshot of the registry, then tell you after a second snapshot everything that was written/modified/deleted.

    Pedro recommends Total Uninstall 2.35 or ZSoft Uninstaller. I have not tried those. I don't know if they only work during install or not. I do know that InstallRite can be used anytime.

    Sul.
     
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,528
    thanks Sul
    in the
    there is nothing

    have you photoshop cs3?
    can you give it a try?
     
  4. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    I do not. It is almost certain to reside in HKLM/Software or HKCU/Software. There could also be in the Program Files folder (adobe) a file that houses it. As well, in program files\common files, you may find it. Finally, it may also be in your profile/application data folder somewhere. It may even be in my documents somewhere. But my guess is the registry.

    Sul.
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,528
    thanks
    i guess you have not photoshop

    but filemon and regmon should to the job , shouldn't they?
     
  6. Sully

    Sully Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Posts:
    3,719
    They should. Been awhile since I have used them. I cannot remember how much resolution they have. I do know that installrite will do it. I have no doubts of that.

    And no, I don't do photoshop. I spend free time coding and such nonsense. Sorry.

    Sul.
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,528
    i used this setting
    are they good?

    i enabled only write
     

    Attached Files:

  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    I'm not certain but I'd guess that info's hard-coded. Instead go investigate FreeSnap, Blue Onion Software; reSizer, Zestant Utilities; or Sizer, BrianApps. Reports weren't good for Winsize2 on either XP or Vista, and I doubt Eusing's AutoWindowManager is what you're after. If someone mentions ResizeEnable, keep in mind it provides "coarse" adjustment @ best.

    Likewise, I imagine if you knew where to look ResourceHacker might allow you to tinker with those settings.
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,528
    thanks
    but these program are able to resize windows
    but they don't tell me where the program save the info
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Like I said, I assume they're hard-coded. That you'll probably be pressed to hunt around on your own, an overview.

    Maybe something in these here pages:

    Functions, names, and locations of preference files in Photoshop CS3 - http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=kb401600

    Viewing Camera RAW thumbnails in Windows Explorer - http://www.suodenjoki.dk/us/productions/articles/raw_thumbnail.htm

    Mr_Unreliable's got a tool if you pick out a string - http://www.developersdex.com/asp/message.asp?p=1825&r=6626712

    And Jeff mentions a bunch of preference paths here - http://photo.net/digital-darkroom-forum/00GMbN

    As far as values I'd ask about the "SetWindowPlacement API" on an appropriate forum.
    Then again, it may be as easy as what these folks are discussing.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,528
    Great find
    Globalforce you the best!:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.