Where did 'Protocol Filtering->Excluded Applications' go in 4.2.40?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by haerdalis, Apr 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Hello..

    I upgraded to 4.2.40 from 4.2.35, and the first thing I noticed was that
    'Protocol Filtering->Excluded Applications' wasn't present anymore.
    Instead it was the so called url exclusion lists (the ones I've never managed to get to work, i.e it still created HTT*.TMP files for those).

    The reason I ask is that checking one application in "Excluded applications" finally got rid of the annoying behaviour it had with creating lots of HTT*.TMP files which lasted until
    _at least_ the next reboot. The files were locked until reboot, after that it removed some, and some it didn't.

    I use Windows 7 Pro x64.
     
  2. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    I am able to view excluded application under the Protocol Filtering tree, as per screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    Do you have W7 x64 and 4.2.40?
    I ask because that x64 tag was the reason it (or similar behaviour) wasn't present in versions earlier than 4.2.35 (I think it was).
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    XP Pro SP3 fully patched. The build you have under a 64 bit installation may have a slightly differnet UI. This should be confirmed by ESET.

     
  5. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    It does, as earlier confirmed by ESET due to assorted extra security restraints in x64 versions of Windows 7 and (I guess) Vista.

    However, I found the "excluded applications" section in 4.2.35 (which was very nice, and apparently working), but it seems to have disappeared in 4.2.40 again.
    Hence, the question.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Noted and thanks for your comments and notes, I will leave this thread in the most capable hands of the folks from ESET.
    I am remiss to the fact that this feature is not available to you, though, again, this would have to be confirmed by ESET.

    Regards,
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,792
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes. It shows on my machine using ESS.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    I probably wasn't clear about it, but I use NOD32 AV (not ESS).

    Just in case I uninstalled 4.2.35, ran ccleaner, installed 4.2.40 with a clean config (i.e not importing the previous one).
    Result in the attached file (it wasn't present).

    Uninstall 4.2.40, reinstall 4.2.35, there it is.
    In other words, it has been removed from 4.2.40 or they've done something
    which excludes my computer from using it in the new version.

    Reverting back..
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.