where did it go?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hivoltage98, Nov 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hivoltage98

    hivoltage98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I recently bought a new 200 gig hard drive for my computer replacing my 40 gig. Being my lazy self, I just wanted to copy my stuff to the new drive. I'm using xp pro by the way. I used the clone disk to copy all my stuff to the new drive, great, but now it shows the 200 gig drive sized at 31 gig. Where and how do i get the other 170 gig back and to show up in my computer? I was going to use disk director to expand the drive but to no avail. Please help! signed, newbie
     
  2. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480

    You probably should have proceeded according to the instructions given by Menorcaman here. This would probably mean wiping your 200 gig drive clean and starting from scratch. Unless you try creating an image of your C: partition (as opposed to the whole C: drive) and restoring that to your cloned 200 gig HD, and expanding the partition before clicking on Proceed.
     
  3. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    With XP Pro, you probably have NTFS as your original drive format. When you run the clone drive feature, you have a choice to use the automatic or manual partition resizing. If you chose automatic, your partitions should have been upsized to fill the drive.

    Try recloning again using the automatic features.
     
  4. hivoltage98

    hivoltage98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2
    I did try the auto feature and did select the fill partition the first time. Thats when it showed the 31 gigs instead of 200. I formatted the drive again with xp and then tried the manual setting feature, trying the expand feature again, still at 31 gig. If i should format the drive again, what program should I use, and should it go back to showing 200 gig again? Also I have only one partition and would like only one when finished. Thanks for the posts also!
     
  5. bobdat

    bobdat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    316
    That is strange. You may want to try creating an image of the entire drive and then restoring it to the new larger drive using Menorcaman's procedure to resize the restored image.
     
  6. dld

    dld Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    480
    I use ATI 8.0.937. I can restore an image of my 30 GB C: drive to a USB2 external HD of size 120 GB. The result is a C: drive on a single partition of size 30 GB with the rest of the space being unallocated. I then restore my C: partition (excluding the MBR) to the same USB2 HD, but I increase the size of the partition to the full 120 GB before proceeding with the restoration. The result is a C: drive on a single partition of size 120 GB.

    I then try to clone my C: drive to the USB2 drive using TI in a Windows environment. At some point I am told my computer will reboot, and then I end up with an error message and the clone is unsuccessful.

    I then try to clone my C: drive to the USB2 drive using the recovery disk. I choose automatic resizing of the target drive. This time the clone procedure is successful and the result is a C: drive on a single partition of size 120 GB.

    My suggestion is that you try cloning your drive using the disaster recovery disk and use the automatic resizing before proceeding with the cloning.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.