Where can I download KAV 2006 beta?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by KAVcurious, Oct 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KAVcurious

    KAVcurious Guest

    Where can I download KAV 2006 beta?
     
  2. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
  3. grnic

    grnic Guest

    Planned date of official beta is 01/11/2005
     
  4. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    The newest version has been the most stable by far on my computer. I can actually use it.
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    I've been running the beta's since build 203, and I haven't been back to 5.0 since. KAV2006 is proving to be a real sweetheart.
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Great news!
     
  7. controler

    controler Guest

  8. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    But these are still the pre-betas.

    The first OFFICIAL beta is, as grnic stated, released at the beginning of next month ;)
     
  9. controler

    controler Guest

    Wow, then I am impressed. I have been using both for a few months with very little problems. The two releases before this I had to shut off KAV right after bootup, then start it up again or would lose internet connection.
    All seems well now. Am using KIS and like the proactive defence.

    controler
     
  10. AnthonyG

    AnthonyG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Posts:
    614
    When is the official release due? i assume it wont be until 2006 :oops: .

    I am starting to really like Kaspersky, old versions used to slow my machine down to an unusable crawl. Dont know what it is but this latest version is fantastic and seems almost as light as my old mcafee enterprise.
     
  11. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Depending on how well the beta testing goes, KAV and KIS 2006 are due for release in January, 2006.
     
  12. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Build 222 is out now.

    It's lighter and faster too.:D
     
  13. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I don't normally put any beta software on my PC. I have been very tempted to try KAV beta 2006, but have held out so far. I'm just curious as to how user friendly it is. How easy is it going to be to configure for the noob or guy who just knows enough to use an AV? If it's easy to configure like KAV 2005,that will be great. If KAV makes it too difficult, that won't be good.
     
  14. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Very easy, you basicly only have to configure the updater to your prefered interval, it can be configured all the way down to every 5 minutes.

    All the rest is pre-configured to a recommended level of security/speed (& to alert you in case of detection) and should not be changed unless you have specific needs, it's more configurable than 5.0 in almost all respects at the same time. The first official beta is very close and will most likely be released within the next 4-5 days.:)
     
  15. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,502
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California

    Thank you. That is good to hear. :)
     
  16. DonKid

    DonKid Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Posts:
    566
    Location:
    S?o Paulo, Brazil
    Don Pelotas is right.

    Totally user-friendly interface.:D
     
  17. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    I just downloaded kav 2006 pre beta. I really like all the new features, and configuability. Only one problem. My cpu stayed maxed out at 100% :rolleyes: I thought it may have been conflicting with boclean...so I shut boclean down.

    Cpu still stayed maxed out at 100%. I even exited kav, and cpu still stayed maxed out at 100% :rolleyes: I thought, must be a bad install. So, I uninstall it. Clean the registry with regseeker, and ultra wincleaner. Reboot, backup the registry with "winrescue" Then I made sure all programs were shutdown. I even shut down the firewall. Did a reinstall. Same results. Cpu stays maxed out at 100%.

    So it's back to kav 5.0 personal for me right now. Will try again when it's out of beta. Should have listened to Don. :D I'm on an older system. "Windows me" 700 mhz intel celeron proccessor. and 192 mb of ramm. Kav 5.0 runs great on my computer :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2005
  18. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    In my own testing, there can be conflicts if you are running any other applications which provide various forms of proactive defense (i.e. registry protection and so on).

    Disabling this module within KIS/KAV does not, in my experience, resolve the conflict. However, doing a Custom install in which the Proactive Defense module is not installed does remedy the conflict. This does actually make sense.

    In my own case, the KAV/KIS 2006 Proactive module conflicts with SafenSec. KAV/KIS 2006 installed without the Proactive module coexists just fine with SafenSec.

    Blue
     
  19. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    In my case, I would custom install KAV 2006 and use SafeNSec. The new version 2, due in a few weeks time, looks very promising ;)

    Blue, does this incompatibility include Process Guard, OnlineArmor and RegDefend?
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 29, 2005
  20. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Is the problem of the HTTP scanner that was noticed back in the day with earlier builds fixed in the newest 6.0.15.22a? Is everything working on it or is there a need to custom install? I mean I have PG, RegDefend, RegRun Gold, Online Armor, and Look'N'Stop installed, so would I need to disable the installation of the proactive defense if I trial this new beta?

    dja2k
     
  21. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    The official beta1 will be released tomorrow. Whether you will be able to run the proactive defense with all the other proactive tools you, i think so, but will you need all that? I think PG could be a bigger issue actually, i had issue's with it in earlier builds and have been waiting for the new version of PG which is "just around the corner", i hear.;) :)
     
  22. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Blackcat, exactly as I have been running. I prefer the less frequent alerts of SnS.

    I haven't run SafenSec with either PG or Online Armor. When I was running it with RegDefend, there were no problems, just double requests for approval on the SnS flagged registry changes. I had that configuration with SnS version 1.1. Not sure what the outcome would be with version 2.0.

    I was also running the KIS 2006 beta with the SnS 2.0 beta. In that instance, I also had unchecked Network Activity in SnS since I was using the KIS firewall primarily for that function. I don't know if that addressed an incompatibilities, I simply went to that from the start due to the duplication of function.

    The specific configuration that I am testing was made up of BOClean/KIS (Proactive Defense not installed)/SafenSec for my entire security complement. Despite there being two betas in this mix, it's been a very stable trio of applications, extremely light on resource footprint (KL has obviously done a substantial amount of work with this upcoming release to lessen the impact on system responsiveness), and it has dealt with everything I've thrown at it with all three applications at various points actively killing off or flagging malware processes/activities/events and/or files. So yes, I have run into specific circumstances in which all three components have been needed and were used.

    Blue
     
  23. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    My experience with KAV2006 has been that it will BSOD with Process Guard and System Safety Monitor when logging out and when using either of them to block a program from running.

    Disabling KAV2006's Proactive Defense used to provide a workaround but the more recent builds appear to have worsened this conflict.
     
  24. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    As mentioned above, in my experience I had to go with the custom install and not install the Proactive Defense module since simple disabling of Proactive Defense did not resolve the conflict. This is my basic install recommendation for anyone looking at KIS and using an application which will compete in this specific functionality. In my case, I only suffered major slowdowns and system stalls. I can imagine the outcome could be much worse given the proper combination of circumstances, hence my recommendation.

    Blue
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,040
    Funny I've been running KAV2006 beta with PG,OA beta's, S'n's Beta's and Regdefend, and only problem I've had is horribly long boot time, since they fixed some bug in 218. Only thing that seems to stop it is disabling File Antivirus. I tried Blue's suggestion and reinstalled without Proactive Defense, but it didn't make a difference. Hopefully after Beta release they will fix it.

    Pete
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.