When upgrades don't improve the outcome

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by beethoven, Sep 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beethoven

beethoven Registered Member

Most of the time we are all waiting for upgrades and updates and are all getting excited when a new version of our favourite prog is being released. Leaving aside the need to update due to security issues, sometimes new versions are just not better than what you had before.

I have been using Copernic Desktop for several years and was always happy with the program. Over the last upgrade I already noticed some functions did not work as expected (setting date ranges). When I downloaded the latest upgrade, I realised that the version did not provide any benefits to me at all but existing features have been taken away from the free version and are only availalbe in prof. versions. It also seemed that the latest version is sluggish, so I quickly got rid of it. After a quick trial of some alternatives, I just went back to an old version of Copernic (a few years old). While this may not be the perfect program for everyone, it fits my needs - it's fast, can index across a network and runs light.

Sometimes it's true: If it ain't broke, don't fix it. :D

2. SystemJunkie

SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

Haha, totally right!:D :D :D Best example Acronis TI7 versus Acronis TI8. TI8 lost some abilities and creates more errors then TI7, incredible that they dare to promote this software on actual computer magazines. Ti7 is really better even if both versions are totally outdated it is a good example of what you said.

The next crucial example: Explorer.exe Windows XP vs Explorer.exe Windows Vista (default columns are a total flop)
    Ghastly this new explorer totally misconfigured. I really wonder who recoded this ..... it is so dumb to only rely columns on multimedia there you can see the shallow taste of commercial gruesomeness.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2008