When hope is lost Dr.Web LiveCD will revive your system

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Malcontent, Oct 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Malcontent

    Malcontent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Posts:
    451
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio USA
    http://news.drweb.com/show/?i=133&c=5

     
  2. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    Yep, it's awesome :)
     
  3. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,056
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Looks good- hope I never need it though.:)
     
  4. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    How do I update the virus signature on that unrewrittenable live cd?
     
  5. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Load them to temporary filesystem in RAM...
     
  6. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    o_O
    Is that possible to update in cd-boot mode?Imagine my Windows is already dead.o_O
     
  7. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    You do not boot Windows at all. You boot a customized Linux OS from the CD and download the updated virus definitions to tmpfs or whatever they use in RAM.
     
  8. Saraceno

    Saraceno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,404
    Just read their supporting documentation PDF. Also includes the firefox browser, file manager and so on with the download.

    The iso file is only 63mb. Great work. :thumb:
     
  9. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    I will check that, let´s hope the scan speed is a bit higher.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2008
  10. gkweb

    gkweb Expert Firewall Tester

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Posts:
    1,932
    Location:
    FRANCE, Rouen (76)
    Hello,

    I tried it at work, and I encountered some troubles.

    Firstly, to update the databases, it wasn't working. The computer is given an IP address via DHCP but no gateway (checked via a "route" command on the console). After adding the gateway manually via a "route add default gw x.x.x.x", I was able to ping google. However, to access the Internet (HTTP) on this LAN, I need to authenticate with the browser at a particular URL (local server). It was a little hard with Firefox not being in english, but in a language I couldn't read. Firefox was displaying an error I couldn't therefore understand.

    Secondly, I made the bootable USB key following the PDF explanations, and managed to reboot the computer on it. An error message was displayed, something like "no bootable partition found in partition table". As it was a fairly recent computer, I tried on an older one : same error.

    DrWeb boot CD sounds really interesting, but I would prefer using it with these issues fixed :)

    Regards,
    gkweb.
     
  11. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    And how would it connect to the internet ?

    On a machine like mine you can´t do that in safe mode, you need to use the vendors (wireless) software to make a connection. Maybe that can be bypassed somehow, but I think that won´t work for certain routers, modems, ISPs etc.
     
  12. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, get better HW next time... ;) It can connect normally with any NIC supported in the linux kernel.
     
  13. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    not sure if the check for updates would work with wireless or not. would need a wireless module backend to at least select wireless network and type in password.
     
  14. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    100% Agree. This is alpha version nothing for the mass.
     
  15. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    btw you can report the bugs here
    create and account then file a bug under drweb live cd and discripe the problem. im sure it will get fixed faster this way.
     
  16. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
  17. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
  18. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    This ACPI Bios Bug message stands in direct relation to DrWebCD, crazy.
    Never seen a bios bug message like this before, btw this is a brandnew computer.
    [off-topic]You won´t believe that, as I inserted and loaded this drweb rescue cd a real spider roped down in front of my monitor I smashed this little unpleasant apparition away, totally crazy, I never had a real spider in front of my monitor until I inserted drweb cd. [off-topic end]
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
  19. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Is this not the same as the Avira linux based rescue system ? Which is already updated daily, and ready to go. ?
     
  20. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well with the drweb one it has an inbulti updater so you download the iso and then use the updater bultin to get the increments. much better than having to download the whole thing each time.
     
  21. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    The difference is simple, Avira always works.:D :D :D
     
  22. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Well, that's not what this thread is about, now is it?

    With respect to the thread topic...., I burned and tried the DrWeb CD. There are a few rough edges that do need to be smoothed out, but it ran fine on my system for all steps that I tried (boot, basic system scan, etc.).

    Blue
     
  23. SystemJunkie

    SystemJunkie Resident Conspiracy Theorist

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Posts:
    1,500
    Location:
    Germany
    The Live CD works well on one Intel system I tested.
     
  24. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    Personally I much prefer using a BartPE based bootable cd for scanning,UBCD4Win.There are plugins available for many different scanners including Avira and DrWeb all from the one disk.
     
  25. egghead

    egghead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    YES !!!!!!!!!!

    UBCD4Win :cool: is what I use too. Indispensable for the computer repair man.

    Looks like the Dr.Web LiveCD is easier to make though.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.