What's the most compatible AV with COMODO FW?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by TheMozart, Jan 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I am running COMODO Firewall, what AV program is the most compatible with COMODO FW and causes the least amount of conflict?

    Or do I just use the COMODO Defense+ and not have to install any extra AV?

    Or shall I have COMODO Defense+ turned ON and also have an AV installed as well?

    Cheers.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2012
  2. IvoShoen

    IvoShoen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    525
    I have had the best luck running CIS with Panda Cloud.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    all the same, pick any av you fancy
     
  4. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I picked avast, it seems like a nice one :)

    Should I now turn off Defense+ in Comodo, or shall I keep Defense+ ON even though I have avast running?
     
  5. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Yeah avast free or panda cloud. Either one is great. Keep D+ on. Its the best part of comodo firewall. I wouldn't trust Avast's Behavior shield as far as I could throw it.
     
  6. iTrendsNET

    iTrendsNET Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Posts:
    93
    For what it's worth, the times I ran just the Comodo firewall with another anti virus I always used Avira (free) and never experienced any problems. Their firewall seems to get along well with most anti virus programs. I did always enable Defense + and their sandbox.
     
  7. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    From what i've tried before CIS is usually compatible with all kinds of software. :D
     
  8. nikanthpromod

    nikanthpromod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Posts:
    1,369
    Location:
    India
    Eset AV

    Comodo firewall has Cloud based scanning
     
  9. DIgiDis

    DIgiDis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    49
    I use CIS with the Comodo AV and find it sufficient. Even if the AV doesn't detect something malicious D+ will.

    My protection is simple and very effective and costs very little. CIS for total system protection, with MBAM as an on demand scanner. I sandbox my browsers with Sandboxie. That plus a little common sense makes for a very secure setup.
     
  10. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,785
    i would go with either AVG or AVira
     
  11. batsec

    batsec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    26
    Location:
    Germany
    To my experiences, I can easily say that Avira is the most compatible AV with Comodo Firewall; light and effective. ;)
     
  12. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    ot posts removed. to answer OP remaining question, I would ran D+
     
  13. carat

    carat Guest

    Panda Cloud AV ;)
     
  14. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,559
    I agree. Not sure why people feel compelled to use a different AV than what CIS already comes with. Comodo AV is under-rated, and with the CIS's HIPS adding another makes little sense. Just adds additional resource usage.
     
  15. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    The best AV to go with Comodo is its own AV, so just install CIS with default settings and you will be fine.
     
  16. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    But when I installed Comodo, it didn't give me an option to install any AV.

    Is this the one I should have installed?

    http://www.comodo.com/home/internet-security/free-internet-security.php

    If I remove avast, do I have to remove COMODO Firewall too and install the security pack? OR can I keep firewall installed and just install the Comodo AV?
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2012
  17. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    When I used Comodo fw I used Avira AV an I had no problems, I use a Router now with a NAT firewall with Avira. Today I started using/trying Avast Free AV, I still have a licence for Avira if Avast doesn't work out. So I would say Avira AV with Comodo firewall.
     
  18. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    I am using Avast + Comodo Firewall for over 24 hours now and it seems to be working OK.:thumb:
     
  19. smage

    smage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Posts:
    377
    Hello if you are having problems, try the installer from the forum.
    http://forums.comodo.com/news-annou...-security-592198632196-released-t79623.0.html

    Yes if you uninstall Avast, unstall Comodo firewall too and do a fresh install of Comodo Internet Security Premium.

    PS: Given that your combination of Avast and Comodo Firewall is working fine, I suggest you leave it like this. You can watch this video about Avast and Comodo Firewall compatibility issues.
    -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbdxNJI54aY&lr=1&user=malwaretipscom-
     
  20. TheMozart

    TheMozart Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,486
    Yep avast + CFW seems to be working good, not noticed any problems.

    BTW that video is over 6 months old, so I suppose things change a lot in that time.
     
  21. woomera

    woomera Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Posts:
    211
    all should work since COMODO is highly compatible with others though from experience i can assure you bitdefender,GDATA,avast,avira,emsisoft will work flawlessly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.